My Reviews (13)

Hot and Spicy Tuna Sushi Roll

This is an easy sushi roll that has no raw fish, instead it uses tinned tuna! This is a spicy version that uses chilli and wasabi for a dual heat hit.
Reviews (13)


28 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Skater Ky
I had really high hopes for this recipe since my husband and I are big sushi fans, especially any spicy rolls. However, this did not taste like restaurant spicy tuna. Instead, I tasted each part (chili powder, tuna, wasabi) instead of the sum of the parts: Spicy tuna. The tuna was dry, as noted by other reviewers and somewhat fishy. To the rice, I added a bit of salt and sugar and it was great... but not good enough to fix the tuna. Sorry.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 May 2010
Reviewed by: squeakers215
For another tuna twist try substituting the spicy tuna with shoyu tuna--take 1 can drained tuna and add 3 tbs sugar and 4 tbs soy sauce and heat until the tuna absorbs all of the liquid.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: HAWCHOO
We eat sushi at home pretty regularly. The 2yo and the 6yo love to help layer veggies on the rolls. We usually just do vegetarian sushi but I had the rare can of tuna in the house and decided to try it. The flavor is good. The texture of canned tuna was less than desirable. I think if you used a chunkier, higher quality pouched tuna, it would be MUCH better.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: ajfuller16
As this was my first time making sushi, I was quite impressed with myself. However, as a sushi connoisseur I thought this was just okay. Maybe it was the tuna from a can or maybe it's because I thought it was a tad too dry. I feel like you needed more mayo and spiciness to mix in with the tuna. I bought a little container of spicy sauce from Wegman's in the pre-made sushi section. I was 99 cents if I remember correctly. I put a little dollop of this on each piece and it SO improved the taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: ScarlettefromGuam
Mmmmmmmm! Spicy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Seana Hon
This was descent, it was a little fishy tasting, but it was ok. I made too much sushi for dinner and had some leftovers for lunch the next day. I actually think this one tasted better the next day. The tuna seemed a lttle dry, maybe more mayo? I used the pouched white tuna as recommended by a couple of reviews.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Basking
I tried this today and it was delicious! Plus it's easy and cheap - hard to argue with that! I substituted green onion for avocado and it worked great. My 2-year-old even had some.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: laurenbaumbach
delicious and simple!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: asummergirl
Makes THE BEST spicy tuna rolls ever! Although i did make some variations to the recipe. I did not use the carrots. I also did not use canned tuna I used fresh raw tuna (it tastes much better). Chili powder was a nice touch! TIP: did NOT over stuff the roll. yummmm
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Kelly
Every so often we like to have a sushi night and I decided to add this to the menu. Everyone LOVED it! It was very easy and inexpensive to make, yet looks and tastes so luxurious! We look forward to having it again (sooner than later)!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes