My Reviews (15)

Spicy Indian Baked Cod

Cod or other whitefish fillets are marinated in a blend of yoghurt and spices then oven baked. Serve with basmati rice.
Reviews (15)


12 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Todd Watts
I very much enjoyed this recipe, this is a keeper for me. Best cod i have ever had. I could not find ginger paste at any of my local stores so i substituted ground ginger instead, but it still was excellent. One note, the recipe as written is very spicy. I used less than half of the cayenne pepper called for and it was still very spicy. I enjoyed it, but next time i will use even less cayenne pepper for my families sake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: organic_mommy
I am so glad I found this recipe. As the editor's note suggested I used a jar of ready made masala I already had (you can find it in almost any grocery store.) I always have it on hand and use it for a quick super w/chicken. I never knew how amazing it would be w/ fish! I only used a 1/2 the jar to marinade the fish and followed your baking instructions! Best Cod I've ever hand! And definatly not boring! Served w/ basmati rice, it was perfect!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: greencat
Oustanding. Like another reviewer, I couldn't find ginger paste. Instead, I made a paste using crushed ginger and ground garam masala powder. Very flavorful and tasty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: sarahfer
I couldn't find the tandoori paste or ginger-garlic paste. I added minced garlic and increased a few of the seasonings. These came out delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: scrang
was looking for something to spice up the cod supply i have and this was it. dind't have ginger-garlic paste, used equal parts grated fresh ginger and garlic. couldn't find tandoori masala paste, used tandoori masala spice mix. ran short on cayenne, probably used half and it was plenty spicy and we like our food spicy. i also cooked it in the marinade...wonder what it would be like without it. will make this again for sure! thank you for the great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: Marvels51
We loved this as a concept - it was delicious! I halved the cayenne, as suggested by others, and I would probably tone down the spices next time but we were amazed at a marinated cod that was yummy without being battered and fried.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: mrmaz44
Delicious. I mistakenly used 6 T yogurt, but it turned out awesome. I also cut the cayenne to 1 tsp, and thought it could have used a little more, especially since I was stretching the sauce. Those were the major changes, other than ditching the garlic, and using some ginger powder. I used my white wine vinegar and 2 T Garam Masala powder.... that's all i had. And...I did not put the oil/butter on top because there was plenty of sauce to cover the fish. It was moist, tender and delicious. I hope I didn't change it too much, but it turned out great. Thank you for the recipe! (PS 10 minute prep time turned into at 20 mins or more)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: ruconno
Flavor of marinade is overwhelming and way too spicy! In all fairness, I marinaded it overnight. If the marinade were thinner, it wouldn't have coated the fish so thickly and perhaps it would have been more mellow a flavor. I suggested reducing the cayenne pepper to 1/3 of what it says.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: AllieDream
As other reviewers mentioned, this recipe comes out REALLY spicy. I followed the advice and used about half the amount of cayenne pepper and still found it quite spicy (and my husband and I are both fans of very hot/spicy foods). I liked the spiciness, but it was definitely intense. I'll probably cut the cayenne pepper even more if I make this again. I couldn't find ginger-garlic paste, but it was easy to just add some ginger and garlic to the dish. I also couldn't find the tandoori masala paste so I substituted a bit of garam masala instead. No idea if that's even a reasonable substitute, but it still tasted good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Sep 2013
Reviewed by: Danielle
Perfection! I didn't have tandoori masala paste, so I combined 2 Tbsp garam masala, 2 Tbsp cumin, 4 tsp paprika, 1 tsp turmeric, 1/2 tsp chili powder. Then I took about 1.5 Tbsp of my mixture and added about 1Tbsp water to form paste. Also, like other reviewers, I cut back on the cayenne. I love my food super spicy, but my toddlers can't handle the same amount of heat, so I only added about 1 tsp of cayenne. Very yummy! I think I might even use this marinade for baking paneer or tofu.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes