My Reviews (26)

Spelt Bread

Spelt has a nice nutty flavour and is available in most natural foods stores. Try it as a change from regular wheat.
Reviews (26)


05 May 2012
Reviewed by: shrink3677
Knowing what size loaf [weight] and what bread machine setting would help. Looking at similar recipes, there is a problem of overflowing or not working with spelt. Would like to try it.
 
04 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: RAINGIRL497
This turned out great! I had never made spelt bread and, after searching on the net, I discovered that it's supposed to be difficult to make come out right. This came out in my bread machine better than the white and wheat recipes I'd used. I used the "Quick" setting, which had 2 risings, instead of the "Basic" setting, which had 3 risings in order to cut down on kneading. Delicious! Beth, I hope you've posted your muffin and brownie recipes too--I'll search! :-)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: BRODBECK314
I have been trying to find a good spelt flour bread recipe for awhile. This turned out excellent. I used skim milk instead of rice milk and added 5 tablespoons of cracked grains (flax, rye, millet, etc). I used the quick bread cycle and selected light crust on my bread machine. Then I buttered the crust as soon as it was done and put it in an airtight container to soften the crust. It turned out great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Stacy Palmer
This bread turned out well. We often buy spelt bread from the health food store for my child who is allergic to wheat. He often dislikes the store bought loaves as tough & tasteless. He devoured this bread. Sliced thin it was easy to handle, tender, and moist. Cost much less than the store bought loaves. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 May 2008
Reviewed by: RHEYDE
This is the tastiest, moistest spelt bread I have EVER had. Better than the bakery. After reading other reviews, I put mine on the quick bread cycle, which on my machine is called the "cake" cycle for 10 minutes until it beeped and I scraped the edges down. I then realized I had probably selected the wrong cycle, and switched it to the "rapid" cycle which bakes for 1:50 minutes. This turned out a moist, beautiful loaf that could easily be mistaken for white bread, were it not for the nutty flavor of the spelt, and the sheer goodness of it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: NicnNolsmom
My son is allergic to wheat and we have been struggling to find a bread he will eat. He really misses bread! This is it. He loves it and will even eat it 1-2 days later. We use almond milk(he hates rice milk) and have used honey or stevia instead of sugar. It is a heavy dense loaf, but slices nice thinly and doesn't crumble.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: DKBECK
A nice dense loaf. I used soy milk instead of rice milk, otherwise followed recipe exactly. I'll play with this a little to try to get it to rise a little more. But excellent recipe. Kids and parents alike gobbled it up. Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Myrnie
I didn't have rice milk so I used skim and made it in the breadmaker. It didn't rise, but I'll experiment using my manufacturer's troubleshooting suggestions and see if that helps.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: Sarah Lee
this is a great recipe for proportions i just upgrade the quality of ingredients to make it a super healthy bread! I use almond milk, hemp milk or coconut milk whatever i have in fridge, raw honey, unrefined salt and coconut oil! I have also started adding one egg and 1/2 tsp less yeast and that helps this bread rise really well, otherwise you often end up with a very dense loaf when using spelt. I have also used my revised recipe to make hot dog and hamburger buns!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: lobsteriffic
I used a bread maker and mine didn't rise all that high. But maybe that's typical of spelt bread? Tasted alright though.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes