My Reviews (10)

Rice Cereal Bread

Puffed rice cereal adds a nice flavour and texture to this easy, yet healthy, delicious bread for bread machines. I just put it together one day and loved it!
Reviews (10)


04 May 2004
Reviewed by: coalsa
This bread is delicious and I will definitely make it again. I used Kashi GoLean cereal and added 1 heaping tablespoon of gluten. I make a lot of bread in my bread machine; this is a winner!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Cynthia P.
I made this with Total cereal and LOVED it! My husband and kids all agreed. I made the dough in the bread maker and baked it in the oven - just because I think the loaves come out nicer. This is likely to become my #1 bread recipe. All pantry items, super healthy, and SO good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: sueb
I made this with Kashi's Go Lean Crunch cereal. It is soooo gooood! We'll be making this again soon!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Lisa
Really tasty, chewy, DENSE bread. My husband loved it, but we both agreed it really wouldn't work as sandwich bread. It has more of a chewy biscuit consistency. I used leftover Raisin Bran instead of the high protein cereal, and we ate the bread toasted with cream cheese for breakfast. As long as you know what you're getting from this recipe, it's delicious, but don't count on a fluffy, airy sandwich loaf.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: pomplemousse
Very good! A tad dry here--I added 1/2 cup of water and it worked fine. However, I did add about a 1/4 c of vital wheat gluten to this, so that could've tipped it over into dry territory. I just did the dough in the bread machine and when I took it out it looked to be too much for my loaf pans (I use smaller ones than most people, I think), so I broke off about 1/4 and made 7 small rolls to go with dinner. Bf liked these a lot--he said they were good, which for a ww recipe, that's high praise indeed for him. Nice and soft, and a tad chewy. I baked the rolls for 15 mins at 375 and the bread for 40 mins. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: sushicritic
I would love to try some of these bread recipes but not all of us have a bread machine. There is something wonderful about kneading bread by hand and have chosen not to have a bread machine. So guess that's my loss or gain. Is there an easy translation to make this and others by hand? My non-rating is not a bad rating but couldn't try the bread so can't rate it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: reenee
There are several tricks for making high grain breads more moist. One is to add the extra gluten. The other is to add to the dough at any time, 1 tsp. of INSTANT clear gel for each cup of liquid in the recipe. You will be AMAZED at what it does in breads as well as cowpie cookies. Trust me on this.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Sharon Angel
Great recipe & easy way to use up any cereal. Thanks for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: Sharon
My 12 yr old daughter and I loved it!! Made it for the first it time 2/4/13. I substituted Post's Great Grains Cereal (Raisin/Dates) and followed everything else to the letter. Added it to my bread machine and set it to be finished by 7am. Excellent. I'm making another loaf tonite. She eats it with just butter, I love it toasted. Very healthy and highly recommend it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: Jennifer
Wonderful bread! I used Kashi Go Lean and added 1/4 cup more water. The bread was too dense with only 1 1/4 cups.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes