My Reviews (43)

Tomato and Sausage Pasta Sauce

To make a really good pasta sauce it needs to be simmered for a long time. This sauce is definitely worth it!
Reviews (43)


12 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: CURTISLEE
I have found some truly excellent spaghetti sauce recipes at allrecipes, but this one is the best. My son and wife both gave it two thumbs up. I did reduce the sugar by half and it was exactly the right amount, lending a taste of sweetness but not so sweet that it tasted like desert. The burgundy provided a twist which is hard to describe, but welcome nonetheless. It did not leave any sort of liquory flavor and did not overwhelm. Highly recommended. Authentically Italian.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: Shiela
This is really good, worth getting all the ingredients together. I used austrailian shiraz for the wine. Will definately make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: ChickadeeD
Very nice flavor, we loved it. I used ground beef in mine. I will make this sauce again but I will add more mushrooms and big chunks of peppers and celery because I like veggies in my sauce. Thanks Melinda I used the leftover sauce to make Pizza burgers and let me tell you the sauce is even better the next day. I had leftover burger patties I put them in a bun with cheese and then the sauce in between and on top of the bun with a little bit of grated cheese. They were good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: MGILLOCK
This sauce is soooo yummy!!! I was looking for recipes to use up some of our canned tomato juice and tomatoes from last year and this one was perfect! I wasn't sure what "beef sausage" was, being an experienced cook. However, I used 1/2 lb of sausage and 1/2 lb of beef and it still tastes very good. I skipped the step of cooking the onion and mushrooms in olive oil and just cooked them with the beef/sausage. I used shiraz wine as many others suggested. I can definitely taste the uniqueness of the wine in the sauce. Thanks for this great recipe - its one I'm sure I will use again! Oh, one other thing - it is a sweet sauce. I like the sweet, but if you don't like sweet spaghetti sauce, you might want to cut down on the sugar a bit.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: ladylaughsalot
Excellent! We love this recipe, kids included. I used Italian Sausage in it, and found I needed about 2 lbs of it to equal out the amount of sauce. This is the best spaghetti we have ever tasted though. Really great flavor! Had plenty left over to freeze and save for another day.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: Stacy J
this is the first time I have made spaghetti sauce from scratch and it was sooo good I will not be going back to storebaught sauces after this, it was though a little sweet, next time I'll be sure to cut the sugar in half.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: RUTH'S CRAVINGS
This was awesome. I simmered for 4 HOURS-ALL I COULD STAND. I cut the sugar out completely- not needed. Great enough without!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: apz2002
Great Sauce
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: emellings
My husband loved this, said it was restaurant quality, has begged me to make it again. So flavorful and delicious!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: SANDRAMAC
Spectacular! I didn't have plum tomatoes, but used stewed tomatoes I had on hand. Used shiraz, as the previous reviewer had mentioned; mine wound up cooking about 6 hours, as I have the flu. The recipe submitter is right, the longer you simmer, the better it is (I did taste, throughout, using my own spoon)It proved to be wonderful comfort food on a cold winter day for my whle family, and not too spicy for my mother-in-law...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes