My Reviews (46)

Peanut Pasta Sauce

This a quick way to make a satay-ish spaghetti dish, very delicious and spicy. Add chilli sauce to taste.
Reviews (46)


16 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: LitleLisa1
A few additions added a LOT of flavor to this recipe: 1 tbsp lemon juice, 1/2 - 1 tbsp finely chopped fresh ginger, 1 tsp+ each of cayenne pepper and chili powder to replace the chili sauce, and chunky peanut butter for crunch. I also used fat-free half-and-half to replace the cream (milk works well, too) because there's enough fat in the peanut butter. The half-and-half keeps it creamy. I let the sauce sit for about an hour and it was great served with a stirfry of broccoli, carrots, and red pepper over noodles.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: R. Fang
This was a delicious recipe! I modified it slightly, but used the same measurements. Sticking with traditional Thai cooking, I replaced the heavy cream with coconut milk. I also added a dash of fish sauce. I replaced the chili sauce with 1 tsp dried red pepper flakes. I used dark soy just because it has a deeper flavor. I also replaced hot water with chicken stock. You can always add more stock to thin the sauce. For the garnish, I used scallions and crushed peanuts.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: DREGINEK
Outstanding! The leftovers were even better as the flavors "soaked" into the noodles! My boyfriend didn't like this (the PB was just too much for him BUT...perhaps if I had fed him the leftovers, he might have changed his mind? ) A couple changes: First, I used 1/2c HOT chicken broth instead of the water and used only 8oz spaghetti noodles so that it wouldn't be "dry." Second, right before the noodles were done, I tossed in a head of chopped broccoli into the water so that they would cook. Finally, I fried up 2 chicken breasts in a little butter and chicken broth - cut them in chunks and placed them atop the pasta. The broccoli gave this color (and I love my veggies) the chicken added some substance and the noodles tasted - well - just darn good! I would have liked this a little spicier but I can play around with that more the next SEVERAL times I make this! Thanks a bunch Holly!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: Mollycurls77
I used this as a sort of template to build on. I used extra garlic and soy sauce, used a thai chili paste in place of the chili sauce and also added a few drops of thai fish sauce. When I added the peanut mixture to the spaghetti, I found the taste to be too sticky, so I then added some chicken broth to thin it a bit...then voila I had a perfect pasta dish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Pichoux
Yummy recipe! I followed the example of other reviewers and used coconut milk instead of cream and stock instead of water. I also added 1 tablespoon of lemon juice, a few dashes of fish sauce, 2 teaspoons of sambal oelek, and 1 teaspoon of crushed ginger. I stir fried some pork strips, onion, red pepper strips, sliced carrot, and broccoli and added that to the spaghetti and sauce. It had a nice mild heat to it and a wonderful peanut taste!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: JT'sMom
Nice flavor, to make it a more harty meal I topped it with Tyson ready grilled chicken breast strips, diced roma tomtaoes, sliced green onoin, chopped honey roasted peanuts and used about 1/2 bunch of chopped cilanto (we love it). I also used penne.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Tonia
I loved the idea of this dish but it was not something I will make again. The descriptions of others were accurate in describing the flavors, it just wasn't something I could like. It was creamy, had a decent flavor but none of us in my family fell in love with it. We all ate it, no one refused it, but discussed the fact that I will never make it again. My son adds bbq sauce to everything so he said it was ok (with bbq sauce). I'm definitely glad I tried it, we come across loved recipes that way, we just won't "try" this one again. I don't want to turn people away from this recipe, because if all of the ingredients are something you like, give it a whirl. That's what I did.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: HETHRA
I followed suggestions made by LitleLisa1 and DREGINEK and the results pleasantly surprised me. I used: 1/2 cup hot chicken broth instead of water, dark soy sauce, about a tsp of Cayenne pepper instead of chili sauce (and a few pinches of red pepper flakes), a few dashes of Thai Fish Sauce, a tiny dash of Dashi-no-moto, a dash of cinnamon, 1 tbsp. lemon juice (I consider this ingredient necessary), and had no cilantro though will use it next time. Also I used a mini food processor to roughly chop the peanuts for garnish. I had heavy cream on hand but next time I will definitely use either half&half or milk as the heavy cream was very heavy. And with regular peanut butter the sauce definitely has enough fat! ALSO I Pan-fried/sauteed Haddock loins in some peanut oil and a little of the peanut sauce, and then added some fresh broccoli florets and chopped carrot and let them simmer but it's crucial the veggies stay a little crunchy to offset the soft texture of the noodles and sauce. I used the 8.8oz package of Eden Udon noodles.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: AUBERS
This was pretty good, although I may have used too much pasta to the amount of sauce I had because it came out really dry and a little bland. Don't overdo it on the pasta!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Rustopherson
This was so tasty! Like other reviews, I chose to use Half/Half instead of heavy whipping cream. I also garnished with crushed walnuts instead of cilantro-mainly because I didn't have any. I let it cool a little before eating and the sauce thickened up which gave the food a nice texture. Also, I only used 10 ounces of noodles instead of 12. It was the perfect amount for two adults and two little kids. By the way, the kids inhaled it! Five stars definitely!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes