My Reviews (76)

Hot Chicken and Dumplings

This is a very warming and satisfying chicken stew, the ultimate comfort food in my opinion! Perfect in winter.
Reviews (76)


17 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: Rose Abrams
I gave this recipe 3 stars because it does use the traditional Southern "slippery noodles" called "pastry". However, that is the only similiarity to being Southern that I saw. Lemon? Bay Leaf? Sounds like flavors above the M/D to me. For authenticity, add 1 teaspoon poultry seasoning to the chicken as it boils. A roaster or hen will give the better flavor. Skim the fat from the broth and use it to make the noodles. When done properly, this is a labor of love and takes the better part of a half day to accomplish. To properly complete the recipe, after all the noodles are added to the pot and it is allowed to simmer for about ten minutes; turn the heat off and cover. Allow to "rest" for another ten to fifteen minutes before serving.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Tina Pacelli Williams
Great recipe for Southern Dumplings. I made my own recipe for the chicken & broth. NO LEMON, NO BAY LEAF, NO THYME! I cooked the chicken with 1 chopped onion, 3 diced carrots, and 3 ribs of diced celery. Add chicken broth & some black pepper (just the same as how I make soup)... THEN follow the recipe for the dumplings!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Mad Scientist
AWARD WINNING!The Dumplings really made this recipe. They were easy to make and if you treat the dough like pie dough and don't over mix, they come out sooooo tender. I cooked the chicken budget style: Frozen breasts with just a little chicken broth, black pepper and a bay leaf. Those of you who said the lemon gave it a funny flavor, should make sure your chicken is simmering and that the lemon is only in for about 30 minutes. The only thing I would change about this recipe is the directions stating to serve immediately. I let it rest and the broth thickened on its own within 30 minutes. It was even better the next day.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Nov 2008
Yes , !!! Finally a recipe that has brought me very close to my favorite 'Cracker Barrel" restaurant. This recipe was great .I used chicken breasts instead of the whole chicken,I find it easier to work with. I used the chicken broth instead of water in the dumplings& used enough to make a nice soft dough. I threw in a few handfuls of baby carrots while the chicken & broth simmered. I like the sauce on the creamy side instead of broth, so I added a 1/2 cup equal parts of cream,broth & flour and added it at the end . It thickened as it stood. BEAUTIFUL!!!! I cant wait until the kids go to bed so I can sit with the whole pot & a big spoon!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Feb 2001
Reviewed by: TR21
I made this dish with my Grandma, and boy did it bring back childhood memories. I added extra flour to thicken the broth a bit, but other than that it was scrumptious. Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: 22MAGIC
This was the first time my chicken and dumplings ever turned out right. This is a very good recipe if you like southern style chicken and dumplings. Since my dad grew up in the south, I sent him some. He came back over the next day to eat leftovers. Thanks for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 May 2002
Reviewed by: Wyoming Carol
Did not care for this type of dumpling. Like Bisquick better!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Nov 2000
Reviewed by: FLOWERBUD
Taste just like the chicken and dumplins I used to eat at Po Folks restaraunt 15 years ago!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Aug 2000
Reviewed by: UMMAA
Fairly easy to make! Especially since it was my first attempt at dumplings like this. My family ate it all up! Tasted wonderful!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Dana
Very easy to follow and great tasting!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes