My Reviews (123)

Fish Tacos with Mango Salsa

Fish tacos are a great change from the usual. This recipe serves mahi mahi with a fruit salsa and a ginger-lime dressing.
Reviews (123)


08 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Zchambers
Wonderful recipe! I put red onions into the salsa that added a nice kick, as well as a second jalapeño. The dressing was delicious...some extra cumin gives it a some good spice. This was fast and easy to make, and everyone loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: THUESEN
I just got back from a trip to Hawaii and was craving a fish taco like the one I had at a restaurant there. This comes VERY close...but without the view of the ocean! I even used a frozen mix of pineapple, mango, and papaya and it turned out lovely. Also, I didn't have mahi mahi, so used tilapia instead. This is a softer fish -- it tasted good, but the mahi mahi would have held up better. Still, a great tropical meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: Ann
I absolutely loved this, and it's super easy! I didn't have time to make fresh salsa, so I used a good quality salsa and just added fresh mango. It was quite good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: mommyluvs2cook
Very good and tasty. Next time though I might do without the s.c sauce. Was sort of bitter compared to the rest of the taco...but overall...excellent
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: Michael Willis
The ginger lime dressing is delicious, and could go with just about any fish taco, not just mahi mahi. I replaced the salsa recipe with my own, because I prefer tomatoes to avacadoes. Also, shredded cheese on the tacos is a good compliment. I would recommend adding shredded lettuce, beans, or rice to the taco in order to give it body. Even with liberal servings, just the fish and the topping doesn't do it for us.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: FNChef
"THe best fish taco i've ever had" says the boyfriend. It really was delicious. I was tempted to add more seasoning to the fish, but didn't (glad I didn't). Tempted to skip the sour cream sauce (really glad I didn't). If you taste it on it's own, the sauce may seem a little out of place... but it pairs so nicely with the salsa - I wouldn't skip it ever! And about the salsa, I added some red onion, mainly for color but also flavor. It was ok. I added some lime juice and salt and pepper...ba-bam! It was so good, I had to get rid of the spoon so I'd stop eating it before the fish was ready! Skipped the cilantro because BF doesn't like it, but I didn't miss it. I am looking forward to making them again!! This was a real winner!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Kelly Campbell Aley
Someone gave us some Mahi Mahi and I wasn't sure what to do with it, but found this recipe. Mangos aren't in season here in Puerto Rico, right now, so I left them out. Both the sauce and the salsa were still amazing! I recommend fresh pineapple because the acids preserve the color of the avocado and add a bit of sweet bite better than canned would. I will definitely make this again. We served it with you-bake tortillas from Costco. DELICIOUS! Who knew I'd like fish tacos?
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: LMF443
The family ooo-ed and ahhh-ed over this one and claimed the recipe was a keeper! The flavors blend nicely: it's just the right amount of sweet, creamy, savory, and heat. I was even complimented on how the textures blended so well. The only complaint was that the ginger sauce ran out too soon. Next time I'd probably make 4 times as much, since we have some big eaters here. This would probably also be great with pork or chicken too!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: SunnyByrd
These turned out really well. I made them as directed, but ended up really increasing the heat and flavor of the sauce and the salsa towards the end. I think a green taco sauce would be excellent with this to counter the sweetness, in addition to the ginger-lime dressing and fruit salsa. I added red cabbage to our tacos for texture. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 May 2010
Reviewed by: Michelle Nelson
So good! I added a lot of extra ginger and used store bought mango salsa since I already had it. The sour cream sauce is awesome.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes