My Reviews (13)

Spicy Orange Chicken

This is a great recipe my whole family loves. Chicken is coated in spices, fried, then simmered gently in orange juice.
Reviews (13)


05 May 2009
Reviewed by: WeBePirates
its like candy chicken with hotsauce on it. I didn't like it very much, but I hope that with tweaking this recipe it can be pretty good. I get where you are going with the recipe though.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: HuskerGirl
I made this as is and thought it was great! The smell of the spices was very yummy and it came out sweet with a little kick. I guess I did change one ingredient- I couldn't find hot paprika so I used a combo of regular paprika and cayenne pepper. I also added a little cornstarch to the sauce when the chicken was done just so it coated the chicken. Yum! Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Trisha
This was great. We loved the spice's on the chicken. My husband and son both commented on how good the chicken was.It was a little sweet and spicy, Yum. I did do something alittle different [sorry] I drained the oil,used 1/4 c. of orange juice and 1/4 c. of chicken broth,[I keep a container of it in the fridge] scrapped the brown bits up. Put a can of low fat cream of mushroom soup in it. The only reason for that is because we had rice with it and my husband has to have gravy. I'll diffently make this again. Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 May 2010
Reviewed by: xoxo_lina
This chicken was sooo good! My boyfriend followed the recipe as written. He pounded the chicken between two sheets of saran wrap to ensure even and quick cooking. It totally hit the stop - sweet, tangy and spicy! It would probably be tasty with some cayenne to kick up the notch as well. Definitely will ask him to make it for me again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: JK81908
This chicken is so amazing! I love the flavor of the hot and the orange juice mixed together. It was easy to make and very tender.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: merlion
This is the best tasting easy chicken recipe I have ever made in my entire life! It isn't spicy, but it is so tasty! I used about 2 lbs of chicken thighs with the amount of seasonings called for in the recipe and grilled them instead of cooking them on stove-top (only because my husband wanted to grill the chicken). I boiled the orange juice and reduced it slightly and poured it over the chicken when they were done. I love the taste of this chicken so very much! I understand that the lady who submitted this recipe is no longer with us and I just want to say that this is a great legacy to leave behind. Thank you so much for this wonderful tasting but really easy recipe!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 May 2011
Reviewed by: LindaK
Great flavor combinations on the spices, though I did add a little cajun spice cuz did not have the hot paprika. Also used thigh/leg quarters and still had great results with this sub. Will be using this one again with chicken breast also. Thanks Sharyl4!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: Rachel Powell
I think it could have been better. It just didn't sit well... the recipe needs tweaking. Thought the cinammon could have been reduced quite a bit, maybe even by more than 1/2. Also, the cook time should have been doubled.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: GinaG
This were great, and really simple. Something new for a change. Thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jul 2014
Reviewed by: patriciafulda
Sprinkle spices on both sides of chicken breasts and use 1 to 1 1/2 cups orange juice for the giant size chicken breasts that are the only kind that seem to be available. After browning on one side for 4 minutes, be prepared to cook chicken considerably more than 7 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes