My Reviews (417)

Seven Layer Coconut Bars

These bars are delicious and easy to make. You can use whatever kind of chips you want, peanut butter, vanilla or whatever is available.
Reviews (417)


05 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: TESSV
These are great bars! I've tried several recipes for these bars and here's what I've learned (some after many failed attempts): 1. Don't buy graham cracker crumbs. Use regular graham crackers and crush them yourself. 2. If you have trouble with the butter not soaking through the cracker crumbs, combine them in a small bowl first and then pat them into the pan evenly. 3. The order of ingredients makes a difference in taste. This recipe puts the coconut on last which makes a great toasted coconut top.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: AUDLEEDOO
This is a delicious combination of ingredients! However, if you follow the directions provided with the Seven Layer Magic Cookie Bars recipe submitted by Eagle Brands, they come out much prettier and easier to cut and eat. It's the same exact ingredients -- just a different method.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: Amaruzi
I thought this recipe was good and tastes just as sweet as any other recipe. I had some technical difficulties following step one (melt butter, coat pan, sprinkle in crumbs). This method didn't make the crust solidify so when I cut the bars, most of the crumbs were left in the pan. The second time, I combined the butter and crumbs in a seperate bowl, then pressed it into the pan. Much better. Also, I find that it is really hard to cut these out of the pan because the condensed milk sticks to the pan after baking. You have to chisel them out! The second time, I layered the pan in foil but now, the foil is stuck to the bars. Just keep this in mind. Alterations: I used chocolate/caramel swirled chips and substituted pecans for walnuts. Good!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: BJT72
These are one of my favorite cookies. I made my own crumbs as suggested and mixed them in a separate bowl, pressed into a pan sprayed with Pam. As far as putting the Sweetened condensed milk on the top or the bottom, I decided to warm the can slightly in hot water to make it more liquid, then I poured half on the crumb crust and the other half over the top, this seemed to do the trick to adhere the crust together and coat the coconut as well. I let them cool for about 30 minutes, then cut them with a pizza cutter, but did not remove them from the pan until the next day this gave them enough time to set up properly and they were easy to remove and maintained their shape.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Cheri Franz
I read many of the reviews and used parchment paper - perfect solution to the reports of stickiness. The entire thing lifts out of the pan and comes right off the paper when fully cooled. An exceptional variation follows: Substitute chocolate boxed cake instead of graham crumbs, increasing butter to 1 1/2 sticks of butter. Mix thoroughly and press on bottom of pan. I used 1 cup peanut butter chips, 1 cup milk chocolate chips, 1/2 cup semi-sweet chips and sprinkled over the crust. I omitted nuts altogether; mixed the milk with the coconut, poured it over the layers of chips; THEN topped with a handful of semi-sweet chips on top for a really nice presentation. Very impressive and absolutely delicious - finger licken' good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: ABBYW
I made this for a holiday party at work recently, and it was a huge hit! It is definitely for the sweets lover, but the combination of the butterscotch with the coconut and semi-sweet chocolate really gives them a great flavor. Be careful if you put the bars in the fridge to cool, they can become very hard a difficult to cut. I would advise cooking them the night before and sitting them out to cool instead. Also, don't go wild with the semi-sweet chips, they can overpower the good taste of the other ingredients. Finally, I used regular butter instead of unsalted, and they still tasted great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: ChristineM
I make these all the time - many variations - but I always add the milk last like other reviewers. I found a new variation to try recently - use a box of devil's food cake mix blended with 1 1/2 cups softened butter to make a crumbly dough & use that in place of the graham crackers....YUM! And I think it holds together better that cracker crumbs.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Amy
Rich and gooey -a real treat! I lined the inside of my glass baking dish with aluminum foil and sprayed it - that way I could remove the entire thing after baking and cooling for easier cutting.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: STREETANGEL
Good, but the sweetened condensed milk is better if it's poured over the melted butter-graham cracker layers. I suggest cutting it into very small squares, as it is quite sweet. But this is always a hit.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 May 2004
Reviewed by: JACKIEAE
A favorite that everyone loves. Be sure to experiment with different kinds of chips and nuts. Make sure you pour the milk over the coconut so it will not burn, not the other way around as stated in the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes