My Reviews (57)

Tossed Seafood Salad

This is a great combination of prawns and crab and vegetables which is equally appropriate at a picnic or a dinner party.
Reviews (57)


01 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: ASWANSON71
This recipe takes a bit of patience with all of the chopping involved, but the result is well worth it. I have never really liked the taste of seafood salad from the deli at the supermarket because it always tastes too fishy. I mixed everything together in the largest bowl I have and let it refridgerate overnight. The result was fantastic. I used this for a side dish for Easter dinner and the serving bowl was empty in minutes!! This will definitely be made again and again. Very tasty dish!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: IMVINTAGE
We really enjoyed this recipe! I cut the recipe in half & used 1/2 lb. frozen salad shrimp & 2 cans of lump crab meat (next time I will only use one can of crab & maybe increase the shrimp a bit). I rinsed the crab to remove the tinny, fishy taste canned seafood can have. Because my seafood was pre-cooked, I omitted the sauteing. I did not have any celery so I used a bit of celery salt. I added some frozen peas (thawed), additional old bay seasoning (quite a bit actually), ground black pepper, about 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese (in addition to the mozzarella), about 1/2 cup of sour cream & a bit of extra lemon juice. I chopped up my toasted almonds a bit (they were a really good touch...added just the right crunch & toasted nuttiness). Served it out on the patio, on a bed of lettuce leaves, garnished w/ a lemon wedge w/ club crackers & a pomegranitini (from this site). Yummm!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: KIMBERLY KAY
I made healthy adjustments, omitting the almonds and cheese, and substituting fat-free sour cream for 3/4 cup of the mayo (used low-fat mayo for the other 1/4 cup), and we still think it's the best cold seafood pasta salad I've made yet! I went quite heavy with the parsley and Old Bay, and the flavor was phenomenal! Much better the next day. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: DECAR48
Nice taste, but too dry for us. I added a cup of sour cream and 2 Tbsp milk to the dressing and then it was perfect. Will make again for sure.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: Beth Bones Wilson
This is THE BEST!! It is so very easy to make and also easy to subsitute ingredients. It has become the most requested "covered dish" and recipe that I have made!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: NITELIGHT
Great salad. I did add some eggs and olives. Added some sour cream cause it was getting a little dry. Do add extra old bay if you want a little more kick
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Perogi Queen
Great salad!!! Made it for our quilting Christmas party. Doubled the receipe (works good) lined the plater with lettuce, garnished with parsley, lemons and limes (should have taken a picture; sorry I didn't, everyone commented on how appetizing it looked). Fabulous HIT. They LOVED it and so did our neighbors and friends. Most of the time people ask for the recipe, this time they came with their own paper and pen to write it down. After reading the reviews about the seasoning and mayo. I tried this and it seemed to work good. Stir fry your shrimp and crab(I used imitation crab) in butter and crushed garlic, then sprinkle Old Bay on the seafood mixture while it's warm. After the pasta has cooled, sprinkle with Old Bay and mix well.I prepared the dressing with equal amounts of sour cream and mayo, then added lemon juice, Old Bay, 4 tbsp milk, 2 tbsp vinegar and a couple of dashes of vinegar (total of 5 cups in all), but remember I doubled the recipe. The neighbors, the quilters, our friends loved your recipe. Thank you so very much for sharing. I will definately make this again; over and over. Both the men and ladies LOVED IT. p.s. I also added red pepper for color and some shredded cheddar. FABULOUS!!!! Thank you
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jul 2004
Reviewed by: SKD1983
I liked this dish and everyone did too. But I had to add lots of extra seasonings because it came out sorta bland. Next time I'll try a combo of mayo and miracle whip. The mayo alone didn't give it enough "UMPH", even though I added extra of that too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Robin E.
Great recipe!!! I've made this recipe many, many times and it is now a family fave. I add a little more lemon juice and seasonings, and in order to cut costs I sometimes add a little less seafood. Sometimes I change up the veggies I add too, depending on what I have on hand or what I forgot to buy. All in all this is a fabulous recipe. Thanks for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: Dena
Very recipe. I made it exactly except I only had a handful of almonds. I actually think next time I'd omit them comletely because I don't think they add anything to the dish. Other than that, it was perfect.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes