My Reviews (23)

Clam and Salmon Risotto

This risotto uses clams and salmon but you can really use any seafood you have available. Seafood stock really helps the flavours to shine.
Reviews (23)


20 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: Lizzie Bunny
I loved this. It was so yummy and everyone loved it. I only changed a few things, I added more veggies like asparagus and chopped tomatoes and a little cheese just before serving. My boyfriend ate so much and we ended up having just enough left overs, which was fine with us because it tasted so good and took it to work. Our friends came over and tried it right out of the fridge the next day and ended up eating the rest! I'm making it again tomorrow!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: pumpkin74
Delicious! And it tastes great reheated the next day. My boyfriend made this for me last night and it was better than any meal I've had in a restaurant in ages. Plus, it's very comforting on a cold rainy night.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 May 2008
Reviewed by: hermosanat
Very good! i would add a little more salmon and/or clams to make it more seafood tasty. I also added spinach which made it a little healthier. An option would be to add some tomatoes too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: Steff
This was a good recipe with the twists my hubby and I made. The trick is to use really good stock. We used chicken stock instead of water, and used this to cook 15 fresh clams in their shell, along with the shells from about 10 prawns. We then removed and discarded the shells and added the cooked clams to the canned clams and poured the liquid from the canned clams into the stock. We substituted the saffron and basil for 1 tsp of Old Bay seasoning. We added 2 c. chopped spinach and substituted salmon for 10 prawns and 10 scallops. We added these along with 1 cup grated fresh parmesan cheese with the clams when the risotto was almost ready. Belissimo!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Sep 2013
Reviewed by: Jeffrey Thal
A really good starting point, and it produces a fine dish. My swing on the recipe is to season it with a bit of Old Bay--just enough to feel that it's there, but not so much as to make it an Old Bay dish. For seafood, I skip the salmon,and use a dozen medium (26-31-count) peeled and deveined shrimp, a dozen sea scallops, and 1/2 cup lump crab meat. Also, instead of water, I make my own stock by simmering for 20 minutes the shrimp shells, a teaspoon celery salt,and the top leaves from a bunch of celery. Basil is good, but I think thyme is better for this dish. Finally, plate the risotto, sprinkle the tops with good Parmesan cheese and place the plates under the broiler until the edges just begin to brown.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Mdm. Admiral
We thought it needed a little more zip and minced 1/4 green pepper with the onion.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: greenthumb
Loved it! We added a bunch of asparagus and diced a fresh tomato (about 1 pound) then sprinkled with shaved parmesan just before serving. Divine!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 May 2011
Reviewed by: Dee Sadusky Jenkins
Made this for a special "date night" dinner. We both loved it. My husband said, "Well you're gonna have to make this again". Actually he is making it this weekend for Mother's Day for me. I used shrimp instead of clams since he doesn't like them and added a few sprinkles of crab & shrimp seasoning since most people said it was missing something. It had a nice little kick in the back of the throat. Can't wait for Sunday!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Sep 2014
Reviewed by: Sarahbeth
Well, I enjoyed this but made a few changes... I used calamari and shrimp rather than salmon and clams. Also I never use chicken stock so substituted vegetable broth and it was a bit bland so I topped it off with some grated Parmesan. My husband liked it a lot but I felt like it needed some vegetables like cherry tomatoes or celery added. Over all it was quick and easy and tasted ok so will def make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Apr 2013
Reviewed by: TeamGoat
Needs more clams and less salmon. Bland, needs salt and pepper. If I make it again I'm thinking ill add celery, carrots, mushrooms and no salmon.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes