My Reviews (725)

Pita Bread

This is an easy recipe for pita bread. Use your bread machine to help the dough rise easily, otherwise - cover and let it rise in a warm place.
Reviews (725)


Comment:
14 Jul 2008
DREGINEK said:
Altered ingredient amounts. Very good pittas! I added an extra tsp of salt but now wished I wouldn't have...I personally didn't think it needed it. I don't have a breadmaker so I disolved the yeast in warm water, added the remaining ingredients and mixed and kneaded for apprx 8 min (or until it felt right). I let it rise for 1.5 hours (until dough had doubled in size) and then followed the recipe per instructed. My oven produced 8 beautiful pittas that are pretty tasty and were easy to make. Thanks Sandy!
 
Comment:
14 Jul 2008
FRANKQ said:
Something else. I like the use of bread maker in this recipe, it cuts the work in half. The only thing I changed in this recipe was a way of baking the bread. I cooked it in a frying pan on the hob like a pancake, but without any butter or oil. I rolled the bread into 4-5 mm thick circles and cooked each side for about 1 min or so until there were small lightly brown circles on both sides, (heat knob turned half way). They were 1000 times better then the ones u buy from the shops and whole family loved them.
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: SHARONANDMISSY
Great recipe! Both me and my partner loved it. It's the first recipe I tried where the pockets could actually hold anything inside. Much better than shop bought. I brushed some olive oil on a few of them before baking and it gave them a nice golden colour and a unique taste.
 
Comment:
14 Jul 2008
SBDEVENEY said:
Used different ingredients. I'm THRILLED w/ these pittas! Just made them this morning and had friends over for lunch and we enjoyed tuna mayo in them. I used 50% wholemeal flour and 50% bread flour - they are FANTASTIC! I think I might even make a 2nd batch this afternoon! THANK YOU FOR A GREAT RECIPE! - Sharon
 
04 Jan 2017
Reviewed by: Jazz78
Quick, easy and delicious
 
09 May 2010
Reviewed by: dustygn
Yummy. You need to make sure you don't accidentally over cook them, else risk making pita chips!
 
31 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: nuttynatalie69
My daughter has loved this pita bread. I made them into a batch of 16 suitable for the school lunch box and they have been great. Some people have written they are time consumming, sorry I don't agree with them. Using the bread machine does the hard work for you while you get on with something else and the cutting and rolling into shape is soon done, as is the baking. Off to make another batch now
 
Comment:
14 Jul 2008
Blancheskid said:
Used different ingredients. Very good! Relatively easy to make, though a *little* time consuming. I added used about 1/3 wholemeal flour, 2/3 plain. They were tasty and puffed up nicely. My kids love them so this is a keeper!
 
22 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Michelle Berger
Very good pita bread. I don't have a bread machine so I made the dough using a kitchenaid mixer. It came out really puffy with a nice pocket inside. The trick to a nice pocket is to not over handle the dough too much. I learned this from a friend who is Israeli. We love pita and I will be using this recipe again...it's a real keeper. For those of you without a bread machine, proof dry yeast in warm water with the sugar. When foamy add oil and pour into the flour that has already been mixed with salt. Knead by hand or machine until it's smooth and elastic. You should have a moderate dough (not soft and not firm, in the middle). Don't worry if it's a little sticky. You'll need to roll it out with a little flour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: FRANKQ
I like the use of bread maker in this recipe, it cuts the work in half. The only thing I changed in this recipe was a way of baking the bread. I cooked it in the teflon frying pan on the stove like a pancake, but without any butter or oil. I rolled the bread into 4-5 mm thick circles and cooked each side for about 1 min or so until there were small lightly brown circles on both sides ,(heat knob turned half way). They were 1000 times better then the ones u buy from the shops and whole family loved them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes