My Reviews (75)

Buttered Rum Cake

It's the rum glaze that soaks in after baking that makes this delicious cake so fabulous! Very moist and rich.
Reviews (75)


07 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: CAMELOT1997
I have made this recipe for about 7 years. I like it's versatility. I have used Jack Daniels, Amaretto, Captain Morgans. I susbtitute 2% milk sometime for the buttermilk. Add pecans and Marchino cherries to the bottom of the pan to make it look festive. I have also used Brown sugar, butter and pecans to make a crumble. No matter what I use it's always a hit. To me it's better the longer it ages. I make it a day or two before serving. I have sent it down range to many friends that have deployed and it is always a hit down range. It travels so well and stays fresh! For them I don't use any alcohol but use about 2t of extract for the glaze(almond, rum, coconut and rum). A definite on my holiday dessert table EVERY year!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Dec 2007
This was a wonderful cake. I don't know what the other reviewers did but mine came out perfect. Great with eggnog ice cream. The cake was light not dense. I sifted my dry ingredients twice. I also made sure that the butter and sugar was nice and fluffy. When making the cake you must take you time. The other trick is to poke enough holes in it so the glaze goes through it. Remember this is a homemade cake, not a box mix. Thanks for a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: TOOGIE
This is the best rum cake ever!! I did reduce the amount of sugar in the cake batter by 1/2 cup as I don't like a cake that is too sweet.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: betsys
I've made a version for years of this with cake & pudding mixes. It's yummier but I like not using all those chemicals from the mixes. After 20 years of making rum cakes, please follow my advice: MUST USE DARK RUM! White rum just won't cut it. Also, instead of buttermilk, use half milk & half rum & no nasty rum flavoring. Can add pecans in the bottom of the pan. For the glaze, 1 stick of butter is greatly sufficient. If you want more glaze, add more sugar & rum with additional butter so it won't be so greasy. I prefer to boil the glaze until it gets thick before pouring over cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: NEWHAMPSHIRE
I like subsituting extra rum for the water!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Dec 2000
Reviewed by: ARWHEELER
Excellent!!! The only change I was made was I added a simple powdered sugar glaze made with rum as the liquid rather than milk.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 May 2006
Reviewed by: TRUDY
The cake itself is easy to make and very tastie. I found that that the rum/butter/sugar topping is too rich and too much to pour over the cake. The next time I make this, I will half the topping. Also, what I did is poke a lot of holes into the cake and poured the topping down. It's a very rich cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: SWELLSVILLE
This is delicious! I was out of rum extract, so I substituted dark rum, and it worked great. I added pecan halves to the pan before pouring in the batter, which went well with butter and rum flavors. It disappeared quickly, and I had several requests for the recipe. I will definitely be making this cake again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: RUTANA
Delicious. I didn't have buttermilk but regular milk worked great. A special cake!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Dec 2000
Simply divine. I get requests for this cake often now, and am making it this year for Christmas, instead of fruitcake!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes