My Reviews (17)

BBQ Fish with Corn and Tomato Relish

This recipes works well with any firm fleshed fish such as barramundi or tuna. Best to use very ripe tomatoes.
Reviews (17)


22 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Korny1
I made this recipe last night using Marlin and it was fantastic! I made a couple changes: When marinading, I left the rosemary sprig whole so it infused into the oil. I was afraid it would taste too strongly of rosemary if it was chopped in both the relish and on the fish. I did not have cherry tomatoes, so I diced regular tomatoes. I also grilled it on a wood plank for about 10 minutes, then directly on the grill for a few minutes on each side. The relish was a great compliment to the fish! Thanks for the great recipe- I can't wait to make it again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: naples34102
This four star rating is more for the relish, which was particularly good. The fish, however, not so good. Hubs, the grill master, believes it was the marinading that took away from how good this COULD have been. Once put on the grill, the olive oil just flowed out of the meat, preventing it from browning nicely. He said the filets should be dry, then rubbed lightly with olive oil just before grilling on a hot grill, which would then also require less than the directed time - and they also need a good squeeze of lemon. The relish, on the other hand, was just delicious. Great fresh flavor and colors, but I think it could be put to better use with something other than this fish. I served this with a seasoned couscous, which we've finally concluded we don't like. I should have made the rice pilaf I had originally planned on.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: bizzymomma
This was great. Although I did not have fresh rosemary, (I used dried) it still was great. The corn and tomato relish could and WILL be used with other dishes and also just as a side dish. One of the great things about living here in South Dakota at this time of year is the most wonderful tasting sweet corn fresh off the farm. Using sweet corn really gave this relish a nice taste. I did not alter the recipe and I don't feel like I would need to add or take anything out...it's great! 9/17/08 I made the relish as a side dish tonight and it was great....be sure to use sweet corn and not field or frozen corn (or add a touch of sugar to the mix)!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: SunnyByrd
This is good. I made this with mahi mahi because marlin is harder to find where I live. I liked the rosemary, tomato and corn combination. I went quite a bit lighter on the salt in the salsa than called for and added lemon to both the fish marinade and the salsa - I think this misses a little something without it. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: smart cookie
excellent relish for fish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Tracey
The marlin was not very good but the roasted corn and tomatoes were amazing. Marlin is not a very good fish to eat. Mostly a game fish but I thought I would try it when the local fish market had some. It was tough. I think this recipe would be amazing on mahi mahi or swordfish!! Can not wait to try again on a better fish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: Ben R
This recipe turned out fantastic! I was a little scared of the rosemary so I put in a little less than the recipe suggested. Bad move - next time I will put in a little more.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Mei
In addition to following the recipe, my husband threw on some hickory wood chips to the grill before putting the fish on. Oh my, the marlin was so smoky and fragrant, it was delicious! The corn/tomato relish complimented the fish perfectly. It's definitely now my favorite way of preparing marlin! YUM! (we also had the most amazingly sweet cherry tomatoes, fresh from our neighbor's tomato patch..... thanks, Paul!)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: JJS1
I agree with the other reviewers who say that the corn and tomato relish is amazing! I am sure I will make this recipe often.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Joy Moglia
I followed this recipe exactly, and the corn/tomato mixture turned out EXCELLENT. I ended up mixing it into my rice pilaf side dish.....YUM....I'm making it again tonight. I wasn't thrilled with the marlin, but it was my first time eating Blue Marlin so maybe I'm just not a big fan. I look forward to trying this recipe with Halibut. The corn tomato dish is really excellent, definitely try it- you will be pleasantly surprised!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes