My Reviews (24)

Spaghetti and Meatballs with Fresh Basil

Spaghetti and meatballs are true comfort food that bring back childhood memories. My family can't get enough.
Reviews (24)


16 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
My son made most of this dish by himself, with me a relief cook just jumping in when he needed it. I asked him to increase the garlic in the sauce to a few more minced cloves. There were no other changes made. The sauce was simple and meant to not overpower the meatballs, which were obviously the star of this dish. My youngest boy was the only one who liked them. Everyone else thought they were oddly sweet and the grahams didn't pair well with the flavor of the parmesan. The graham flavor was really out of place with the homemade marinara. I appreciate the ease and playfulness of this dish and my son and I had fun making it together but it really wasn't a hit with all of us. I think the meatballs would have been better with a cream-based sauce (think swedish meatballs, maybe) or even as BBQ meatballs?
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: Alayna White Slinker
This was the first time I have ever made meatballs. I was intrigued by the use of graham cracker crumbs in this recipe and thought I would give it a try. I was pleasantly surprised by the smooth texture and the flavor. However, I was not overly impressed with the sauce. It was acceptable, but next time, I will probably use my own.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 May 2009
Reviewed by: Ann
We loved the meatballs... they had a nice taste, not to overwhelming. Will definately make them again
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: inskydiamonds
This was excellent. The sweetness from the graham crackers wasn't overpowering, but made this stand out.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: shauna85
My first thought was "hmmmmmmm...graham crackers...." ---- but the meatballs were good! Both boys (7,9) loved them. Smooth taste. I added chopped onions and cracked pepper. *** WALNUT size, stay consistent with the size **** Next time I will PRE-roll the meatballs so I can cook evenly. I didn't make the sauce, so I am only rating the meatballs.(I use Paul Newman sockarooni)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Elly O
Super tasty! Will definitely make these again. They seemed a bit mushy when making them but they turned out great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: Nicole N.
Just made the meatballs: I was worried they'd be too sweet, so I made sure to get plain graham crackers (NOT honey or cinnamon), used a bit more meat, some salt, pepper, minced onions, and some fresh basil in the meat mixture. It was great and had more of a hint of sweet than an overpowering, which definitely would have been the case if not for the changes I made. It smelled wonderful while baking, too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 May 2010
Reviewed by: KAT
My husband said these were the best meatballs I ever made, and I've made a lot of meatballs! I bet they would be good as an appetizer in cocktail sauce, too. thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: AbbyMP
I used Cheese Itz instead of graham crackers cuz that's what I had and I found the consistency to be almost unmoldable. Maybe the graham crackers make the difference?? But I also used 16 oz of meat instead of the called for 8 oz so I dunno! I also used Motzerella cheese (again, what was in the fridge) instead of parmesean. All in all, they turned out very tasty ~ not pretty, but very good! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jun 2016
Reviewed by: Jaybird
Always add at least 1 small can of tomato paste to the gravy. Makes a huge difference. Use Progresso Italian flavored bread crumbs. Also, never add sugar to the gravy (sauce) just put in 2 to 4 baby carrots. They add a little flavor, and sweetness (meaning they cut the acidity) Lastly, simmer the meatballs (Don't over cook when frying; they will cook well in the gravy) for at least 1 hour to absorb the gravy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes