My Reviews (36)

Pickled Green Beans with Dill

I love making my own pickles and have a special rack for processing the jars in boiling water. These are easy to make and so good!
Reviews (36)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
JEANETTER said:
Used different ingredients. Used half wax beans and half green beans. Also, substituted dill weed for fresh dill. Great recipe!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Luv2Cook said:
Used different ingredients. These are SO good... even my 5-year old daughter couldn't get enough. I added a long yellow sweet capsicum to each jar for "looks", too... which added some flavour to boot!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: JOSIE
I have been making Dilly Beans for years and everyone now just expects to get a jar at Christmas. If you like things a little spicy, try putting a 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper or some red capsicum flakes in each jar with the garlic and dill.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: SandyBakes
These beans are wonderful! My great uncle used to can dilly beans for me when I was younger and since he passed away I've been craving them. No one else in my family cans them. I found this recipe and made my own. I've been putting them into quarts because the pints just don't last long enough. Thanks so much!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: MÉLANNE
These are great! People couldn't get enough of them. The earlier reviewer who says this recipe is unsafe because it isn't pressure canned is incorrect. The acid in the vinegar makes this a pickle which means it is safe to water bath. You would NOT want to mess around with the 50/50 proportion of water to vinegar though, that could cause safety problems. The jars come out of the water bath with the beans looking ugly and shriveled but if you let the jars stand in your pantry for at least a couple of weeks the beans will rehydrate and look and taste just right.
 
10 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: chellebelle
These are great! People couldn't get enough of them. The earlier reviewer who says this recipe is unsafe because it isn't pressure canned is incorrect. The acid in the vinegar makes this a pickle which means it is safe to water bath. You would NOT want to mess around with the 50/50 proportion of water to vinegar though, that could cause safety problems. The jars come out of the water bath with the beans looking ugly and shriveled but if you let the jars stand in your pantry for at least a couple of weeks the beans will rehydrate and look and taste just right.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: SweetBasil
I have been making Dilly Beans for years and everyone now just expects to get a jar at Christmas. If you like things a little spicy, try putting a 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper or some red pepper flakes in each jar with the garlic and dill.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: luv2cook
your recipe didn't indicate how long before you could eat them. I called my mother and mother in law and all they could tell me was if it was the same as pickles you needed to wait 3 to 4 months before eating???
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: t_bevins20
These beans are wonderful! My great uncle used to can dilly beans for me when I was younger and since he passed away I've been craving them. No one else in my family cans them. I found this recipe and made my own. I've been putting them into quarts because the pints just don't last long enough. Thanks so much!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: Peach822
Used half wax beans and half green beans. Also, substituted dill weed for fresh dill. Great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes