My Reviews (23)

Tomato and Basil Spaghetti Sauce

My wife and I created this recipe because we don't like thick pasta sauce. You can adjust the amount of water to your own taste.
Reviews (23)


07 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Stephen214
Wow, this receipe is the best non-thick Spaghetti Sauce we have ever tried. The sauce is great with pizza, dipping sauce, spaghetti, lasagna. You should bottle this up and sell it. We followed the recipe exactly and will never change it. Again, thanks!! Your crawfish recipe rocks too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Centennial Todd
Loved this recipe and have gotten rave reviews from all who consumed. I made some slight modifications... 1.) I simmered for many hours 2.) I added water gradually, 1/2 cup at a time to achieve consitency I liked. 3.) Put stewed tomatos in the food processor prior to putting in the pan (because I can't eat chunks of tomatos) 4.) added some sliced sausage Thanks much for this great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Karrie Kwolek Justice
DELICIOUS! My husband said this was as good as sauce from a fine Italian restaurant. I used yellow bell pepper instead of green because my husband hates green pepper, and I left out the water on the advice of other reviewers. It was a perfect consistency and the flavor was awesome. Look no further, this is GREAT sauce!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Jill
This sauce has an amazing flavor!!! I did not add the water as directed, used 1/2 the sugar and added about 1/2# diced fresh mushrooms. My boyfriend thinks I'm a gourmet cook and asked me to make a double batch next time. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe, Richard & Suzanne. I normally don't like tomato-based sauces for spaghetti (I use olive oil, basil & julienned sun-dried tomatoes) but this recipe has changed my opinion.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: WILLYBURGS
Wonderful sauce, we made it just as is with the exception of and additional two cans of tomato paste added at the end of cooking. We will not be buying bottled Spaghetti Sauce any longer...Wonderful Flavor..
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: bubbasracecar
Excellent! Didn't add any water & only used about 1 tsp of sugar. This is a keeper. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: pink
This was a good pasta sauce. It wasnt one of my favorites but I enjoyed making it. I dont like my sauce as thin as this recipe is, so I only added about 2 cups of water and simmered a lot longer, about 1 1/2 to 2 hours. I did have to season this very well with italian seasonings and dried basil. When putting in fresh basil at the beginning it pretty much mellows out the flavor and is better to add close to the end to get the full basil flavor. I chunked up some yellow squash and added it in as well. The sauce came out nice and robust from all the vegies and simmering longer. It didnt seem to coat the spaghetti as well as other pasta sauces do, and it made a big batch! So we had plenty of leftover sauce. Thanks for the recipe! I may make again sometime because I really liked the addition of all the vegies in it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: GMA
My family LOVES this sauce. I made a couple of small changes; I used crushed tomatoes instead of the tomato sauce (to make it just a bit chunkier), omitted the green pepper (because I'm the only one in my family of 4 who likes it) and added an extra can of Italian style diced tomatoes instead of the water because I didn't want the sauce to be too thin. It turned out fabulous! This is the 3rd time I'm making it this month!!! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, it's perfect for the days I've forgotten to defrost meat for dinner and I always have all of the ingredients on hand!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 May 2008
Reviewed by: GodivaGirl
Okay, Okay..I didn't read the recipe submitter's notes before making this recipe. I looked at the ingredients and had everything and followed the recipe as stated except used only 1 teaspoon of sugar. The end result was a very THIN and runny sauce (not like any sauce I have seen before). In order to make it more like my family likes it I added one 6oz. can of tomato paste. The green chili's give it a very subtle heat. I served this sauce over the Maria's Stuffed Chicken Breasts recipe. Overall, it was a good tasting sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 May 2011
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
I added a couple more cloves of garlic, used a red bell pepper (we don't care for green pepper) and to make the sauce a little fuller, I did add in 8 ounces of sliced mushrooms. This was okay--not our favorite but filling. For my husband and I, we thought that the green onions just weren't a good fit and it could have used more seasoning. I think that this would make a good dipping sauce for breadsticks or even a meatball sandwich instead of over pasta.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes