My Reviews (194)

Rhubarb Sour Cream Cake

This is a very moist cake, perfect either warm as dessert with ice cream, or as a brunch or afternoon tea snack.
Reviews (194)


01 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: V. L. Hartman
Grrrr-EAT stuff! Following the advice of others, I made the following modifications: Used five cups of rhubarb instead of four; cut the nutmeg in half and added a quarter teaspoon of cinnamon to the topping. For those of you who are wondering about using frozen rhubarb, I did -- but I thawed it first. I drained off all but about a quarter cup of the liquid that was created as it thawed. This helped with the stiffness of the dough in the final stage and didn't seem to affect the finished product at all. From what others are saying, my batter was probably a lot easier to spread in the pan. As for results: I took the cake to my parents' house on a visit and everyone there really liked it -- even my dad, who isn't the easiest guy to please! I will definitely make this again; the recipe is going into my file. Thanks, Deb!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: KSKEMP
WARNING: the batter consistency will be as thick as cookie dough, but it is supposed to be that way! I double and triple checked to make sure I had this recipe right the first time I made it because it was so thick. 2nd WARNING: Wait to eat it!!!! The first piece I tried was right after it cooled and it was blah. The next day it was AWESOME! Make this the day before and you won't be disappointed.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jun 2000
Reviewed by: DUSTY_OR
I served this cake today for our weekly afternoon tea and we were amazed by how delicious it was. The only comment I have to make about preparation is four stalks of rhubarb equals four cups of chopped and I had not expected the batter to be so stiff and at first thought maybe it would not rise. By the time I got all the ingredients in the bowl except for the sour cream it was real stiff. But it all turned out very good. . the rhubarb gave this cake a tartness which was delicious with the sweetness of the brown sugar in the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 May 2006
Reviewed by: GLASS-HALF-FULL
Very moist and delicious. I would have to agree with the other raters that this cake is better the next day. I used cinnamon and sugar on top instead of nutmeg. It was wonderful. NOTE: The batter is very thick like cookie dough.....don't worry though...it is supposed to be that way. Will definetly make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 May 2006
Reviewed by: Jennifer Hoffman
I accidently added 1/4 cup of butter to the topping and I swirled it on top of the batter.It tasted unbelievably moist and rich. Even my mother-in-law who hates rhubarb liked it! This is now my FAVORITE rhubarb recipe~
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
Comment:
30 Apr 2013
Kelgoose said:
Could I use tinned rhubarb ? If so how much would I use and if its in syrup would I still use the amount of sugar ?
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
21 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: KKPETE
This cake was very good. My daughter loved it with whipped creme. To me the nutmeg was a bit strong, so next time I would substitute cinnamon.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jun 2001
Reviewed by: SUZZANNA
The cake came out great. The sugar on top gave it a sweet crunchy crust. The cake is very moist and not overly sweet. I'm sure I'll make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: patty crocker
Excellent cake and very easy. However, I only used 2 1/2 cups of rhubarb and it was more than enough. For the topping, I melted a half a stick of butter to add to the sugar/cinnamon mixture with enough sugar to make it pasty and then spread on the top of the cake. Delish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: ANPAR
I love the tartness of rhubarb and this recipe was perfect!! The sweetness of the cake complements the tartness of the rhubarb. My family enjoyed this recipe - will make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes