My Reviews (62)

Roast Pork in Wine

This is a delicious way to prepare a succulent pork roast, with a sauce of red wine, mushrooms and carrots.
Reviews (62)


15 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: COOKIN4FIVE05
This recipe has to find more cooks! I had a plain sirloin pork roast that i was cooking and wanted to do something different. since there was no bone, I wanted there to be some juice for it to be moist. Oh my goodness, is this the best! I had no time to do the bacon part so skipped that, I had no tomatoe paste so used extra tomatoe sauce and used dried parsley instead of fresh, otherwise followed directions exactly. my picky 9 yr old loved it as did myself and my husband. This is a fabulous way to prepare pork and I recommend it for anyone who reads these, do not be shy that only 10 people have rated this!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Mklilly
This is an amazing meal! I used a slow cooker instead of the oven, added 3/4 t rosemary, an onion and a little more wine than what the recipe showed. Unbelievably tender and tasty!!! I cut the roast with a wooden spoon! I wished I had added more carrots because they were just as amazing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: Diyeana
I used this recipe as a guide to make red wine boneless pork chops. I skipped the bacon drippings, butter, bay leaf and carrots. I cooked the mushrooms in half a cup of red wine until they were soft and then put them in a bowl along with another cup of red wine, the garlic, parsley, 1/4 tsp salt, pepper, tomato paste, and sugar. I then browned the chops in a little bit of olive oil and poured the mixture over them. Cooked it all on medium low heat for about 20-30 minutes. The chops were extremely tender and flavorful. I was really impressed how the red wine tenderized the meat. I’ll have to try it with a roast some time. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: MIDGE55
This pork roast was fantastic. I followed the recipe and the roast was very tender and flavorful. The gravy was very rich and tasty, and the bacon grease adds so much flavor. Everyone raved about it and I will definitely make it again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: obaqueiro
I made this recipe adding a bit more of wine and it was absolutely delicious, even for a non experienced cooker as I am this was almost perfect! I would leave the pork marinating for some time or maybe cook slower to make the pork absorb the sauce better
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Barbara Vinson
This was very good - cooked perfectly - the wine/mushroom sauce was yummy - I used a hearty burgundy wine and it was really good over rice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: TNAJK
As others have said, don't let the number of raters scare you off, this is AMAZING!!!!! My husband usually doesn't like roasts (odd, I know) but he raved over this and can't wait until I make it again. I made one small change because we didn't have tomato paste on hand. I used ketchup instead and omitted the sugar. (figured it was in the ketchup) YUM, excellent recipe thanks for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: hallra
I have made this recipe twice now to fantastic results. I used a Beaujolais that paired wonderfully with the pork. I also used a bone in roast that created a "sweeter" taste to the meat. The pan sauce created a wonderful rich gravy that everyone loved. I increase the amount of mushrooms as they cook down quite a bit and the vegetables were just a popular as the roast.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: MountainDaisy
I made this for dinner last night and my boyfriend is still talking about how great it was this morning! I used a slow cooker with a 2.5lb roast, cooking it for 6 hours (adding mushrooms at the beginning rather than waiting until the end of cooking). The meat was very tender, juicy and flavorful. I cut up a couple pieces of the bacon after frying and added them to the sauce. The only red wine I had was a shiraz, which worked just fine. I also used cornstarch to thicken the sauce at the end, and we served it over spaetzle noodles along with a freshly baked Light Oat Bread (found on this site). We will definitely be making this again and again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: LAURENMCS
My first time baking pork tenderloin & this recipe was delicious! I followed the recipe as written and enjoyed every last bite. Would highly recommend!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes