My Reviews (44)

Raspberry Walnut Squares

I make these bars all summer long. They are very easy and look pretty dusted with icing sugar if you like.
Reviews (44)


01 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: luv2bakecookies
They are wonderful. The only different thing I did was double the recipe as well as add a tsp. of salt. I find that salt really balances the flavor of all baked goods. Ok, so I did a couple of other things too. I added a little vanilla and only because I didn't have enough rasberry jam, I divided up the pan with rasberry, then apricot and finally a blueberry jam. The out come was 3 fantastic different cookies. Make sure to cut them small. They are incredibly rich.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: KLBUMB
Five stars for taste and VERY easy to make! Used Splenda and it turned out wonderfully. I sprayed the dish with Pam first, but with all the butter, most likely it would have come out just as easily. Next time I'll use more jam and reserve only a cup of the mix for the topping. Thank you for this keeper!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Emily M.
Very easy and delicious recipe! The few things that I did differently were to use a combo of raspberry preserves and boysenberry preserves and I also only used 2 cups of flour. I had a lot of the pastry mixture left over so next time I'm going to make the bars in at least a 9x9 pan or larger. I think that I will also grind the nuts up to a finer consistency, too, so that the bars aren't as crunchy. Can't wait to make these again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: pinksnowflakeliz
I slathered on a whole 10 oz jar of organic Raspberry spread, and followed the rest precisely as stated. I sprayed some non-stick spray on the pan before smashing my dough in and the bars came out very easily. Once cooled, I sprinkled powdered sugar on top and cut into small bars. I'll be making again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Emily
Great tasting! As the other reviewer mentioned, I used more jam and reserved less mix for the top. I substituted oats for the walnuts and cut back a bit on the flour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: BONS77
I thought this was tasty and easy to make, but way too much dough for an 8" pan. I've made it twice now. The second time I made it in a 9" square pan, and put some extra dough in a smaller pan, and still had plenty for the top. I guess I like a slightly thinner cookie base. I also made some with Apricot jam, which I liked even more than the raspberry.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: THATSSWELL
Very, very good. I used raspberry filling made with frozen raspberries, sugar and cornstarch boiled until goopy (that's the technical cooking term), and the flavor was awesome!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: DaVincis_Diva
I followed the recipe as is but for the final 1+cup of topping I added a small handful of soft brown sugar, a small handful of oats and I replaced the walnuts with flaked almonds - superb recipe, top marks and one I will most definitely make again - Thank you
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: LaurieJ
Delicious! These turned out great and were really easy. I used an 8oz jar of preserves and it was just the right amount. I will make two other changes next time: use a 9-inch pan and add 1/2 tsp salt to the dough.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Kristin
This was not very good, none of us liked it. Once it was cooled we tried it and it tasted like a cobbler thats to dry and stale. The dough was really thick, way to heavy, maybe I did something wrong, but it just came out bad.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes