My Reviews (216)

Easy Raspberry Bars

I make these for my kids all the time as an after school snack or for lunchboxes. Quick, easy and delicious!
Reviews (216)


21 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Christine R.
The reviewer from Texas that gave this a one star was not basing her opinion on the recipe the way it was written. You put applesauce and whole wheat flour into a dessert recipe, it's going to change how it tastes, and you really shouldn't be one-starring recipes here if you didn't follow directions. With that said, I followed the recipe as directed (go figure!) and ended up with deliciously crunchy sweet berry bars that were un-put-down-able. The vote was unanimous - this recipe's a winner, and it's been requested for Thanksgiving. And again, people, please don't rate recipes poorly if you took artistic license with them, just don't say anything and chalk it up to a bad idea, ok?
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: Lori
I made these yesterday and they were deemed a 'keeper' by the family immediately. I followed the recipe as written except that I used a raspbery, blueberry, blackberry perserve combination instead or straight raspberry. There is plenty of oatmeal/flour mixture to cover both the top and bottom of the bars, so no worries. I would recommend stirring up your preserves in a small bowl before adding them to the crust; this will allow for easier spreading. Also, do not spread the preserves all the way to the edge, but rather leave a little space so there is no burning. I would also reccomend keeping an eye on them during baking time; mine were done at about 18 minutes...25 minutes would've been too long in my oven. A yummy recipe we all enjoyed....thank you!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: mom23boysn1girl
These were so easy to make, and tasted great! Since my three year old is allergic to peanuts I have a hard time finding granola bars for him. I cut these bars into rectangles so that they resembled granola bars. They were a huge hit! My only problem was that I couldn't use the outer 1/4 inch of the bars, since the jelly burned onto the pan, so I just cut around that. Next time, I'll be sure to spread the jelly so that it doesn't quite go to the edges.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Pastorswife
Yum yum! I substituted applesauce for 1/4 cup of the butter, and left some of the sugar out! If I did it again, I would probably leave even more sugar out. Also, I didn't have very many preserves so heated up some frozen strawberries and added in a little bit of corn starch to thicken them up! (no sugar with the strawberries) It was delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: LINDA MCLEAN
Oh YUM! Per another reviewer I cut back the sugar by half and replaced a quarter of the butter with applesauce. Not only is this a great dessert but it also goes wonderfully with morning coffee. Thank you so much Corwynn!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
My oldest boy and I made this together (mostly him, I supervised). I added my own touch (one heaping teaspoon of dried lemon peel to the "crust"). We didn't need the whole jar of raspberry preserves, one cup was plenty. These are baking right now. Great for simplicity with a small list of on hand ingredients for young bakers. EDITED: These were okay. A pain in the rear to get out of the pan. We basically had to chisel them out. Not fun.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: elaffint
These are good with all kinds of preserves/jam. I add a little vanilla to the dough, too. I am going to make a bunch and freeze them so we can just grab them and run in the mornings.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Jorie Johnston West
Delicious! These are my fiance's favorite, and the man likes his desserts. The first time I made them they burned after 20 minutes- maybe because I had made my own brown sugar with molasses? The second time I lowered the heat to 375 and baked for 17 minutes. Perfect! Delicious with any kind of jam.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: vanessam888
I read the advice of others before baking and decided to make only a few changes on my first try. I used a half a teaspoon of salt which next time I will just exclude all together since I use salted butter. I added a splash of milk to the portion of the mixture used on the bottom so that it would cut nicely. I added a 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon to mixture. I used a fork to ease flattening the bottom portion into the pan. Even though the bottom seemed thin to me at first, it did thicken upon baking. The jam to batter ratio is perfect. This recipe is delicious and everybody's advice on how to improve this already great recipe was a huge help.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: Cookierama
Delicious bars. They are very easy to make. I add some flaked coconut to the crust and I experiment with different jams such as apricot. It is also nice to sprinkle some chopped walnuts on top.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes