My Reviews (14)

Piquant Raspberry Barbecue Sauce

Make your own barbecue sauce using the leftover juice from a finished jar of pickles! Piquant, sweet and unique.
Reviews (14)


08 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: lisa
I was looking for a way too use up raspberry preserves & this is a bonus, using pickle juice I would've normally just dumped down the drain! This recipe was a little out of my comfort zone so I'm having a difficult time reviewing it It was good-you can definately taste the raspberry, but it's not over-powering. It was pretty spicy-not belly-burning spicy but lips burning kinda spicy. Might want to tone down the spice if kids will be eating it! Also, it makes a ton! I halved the recipe & made 6 huge country style ribs & ended up w/about 2 cups of sauce leftover! Probably won't make it again but it was fun to try!! Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: Seeker
Yes, amazing says it all. As lisa said put in the heat according to your families preferences.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Scandi
This was amazing. I've made it twice now Once with apple vinegar and caper juice and this last time with red wine vinegar and gherkin juice. This time a winner! Perfect blend of all flavors you look for in a bbq sauce. Amazing on pork!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Aug 2014
Reviewed by: mrae
Wonderful recipe! I preserve this by canning in 1/2 pint jars. A family favorite and great for gift giving! We use it for BBQ sauce and/or dipping bbq'd or baked beef, ribs, pork, fish, or chicken. Our grown kids wait for the next batch...I'm on my 3rd time around! BTW, it's also good over cream cheese and eaten w/crackers,tortilla chips and/or sliced fruits like pears. Beautiful color. I kept true to the recipe flavors, but used 2 TB finely diced fresh onion instead of dried, and added 2 TB balsamic to the required vinegar for a darker appearance. If you are canning, don't reduce the acid called for...pickle jc./vinegar, etc., as it's necessary for safe canning. Love the stuff! Thank you A.K. for this amazing recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: VIVNIDHI
Saved my pickle juice from going to waste. I just longanberry preserves I had on hand.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Sep 2016
Reviewed by: Gibson Devens
I've never made barbecue sauce before but from now on I think I'll make some to have on hand. I think I might try making it with different preserves too to see if I can get maybe a blueberry, blackberry, strawberry or even fig flavor. We'll see what works. After the sauce was done I turned the heat back up to medium-high. I threw in six chicken breasts with salt and pepper on them and boiled those for about 20 minutes or so then I pulled them out, shredded them and threw them back in. I turned the heat down to low and simmered them another 10 minutes. I served the chicken on a grilled bun. Topped it with Swiss cheese, a dill pickle, homemade onion rings and some lightly dressed (non-mayonnaise) apple-cabbage coleslaw. Best barbecue chicken sandwich I've ever had.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: michelle
Great flavor! I added a little more hot sauce, I like food spicy! I will absolutely prepare this sauce again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Aug 2018
Reviewed by: Lacey MacAulay
I used fresh garlic and added some cayenne pepper for an extra kick. Delish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jun 2017
Reviewed by: Pete Zalizniak
I hate to be a negative Nelly but I was terribly disappointed. The pickle juice is ridiculous. I have no idea what anyone would be trying to accomplish with this addition. I spent the whole time preparing it trying to figure out how to get rid of the pickle smell. It didn't taste like raspberry and the whole thingwas far too sweet.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Feb 2017
Reviewed by: Mr. Kaut
Fantastic! Put it on wings for the Super Bowl and they were top notch!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes