My Reviews (34)

Persian Walnut Chicken with Pomegranate

Many supermarkets sell pomegranate juice and the pomegranate syrup is also known as pomegranate molasses which you can find in Lebanese shops.
Reviews (34)


Comment:
11 Apr 2009
Lemonhunny said:
Something else. I'm married to a persian man, and my mother in law taught me how to make fesenjoon. I put the walnuts through the food processor; add 1 tbsp lemon juice; 2tbsp Splenda and a tsp cinnamon. Delicous on top of basmati rice cooked with a tadeeq on the bottom.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Altered ingredient amounts. This has been one of my favourites for many years but I make it a little bit differently. First, I use about half of the walnuts. After cooking the chicken breasts, I cut them into smaller pieces and instead of simmering the entire mixture in a frypan for 20 minutes, I bring the onion, ground walnuts, chicken, pomegranate paste and a cup or two of water (until it looks soupy) to a boil in a saucepan and add a bit of sugar and turmeric. I then cover and simmer for almost 2 hours. It's ready when the mixture has thickened. This has to be served on top of plain white rice - basmati is the best.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: FIREANDICEFUEL
I am Persian, and while I was recently talking to my mother about recipes, I let her know this one came through my e-mail. When I let her know, she was just dying to know how to make it! She knows all the recipes such as Ghorme Sabzi and Gheime Badenjoon but she didn't know how to make this. Anyhow, there is too much pomegrante sauce in the recipe. She tells me it is only supposed to be one or two tablespoons. That might be why some are complaining about their food tasting funny. I just thought I would share!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
jtmachura said:
Altered ingredient amounts. This is a great recipe...easy...but I always add sugar to the sauce so it cuts the tartness and the flavour becomes sweet and sour. Some may like more sugar, others less, depends on your taste buds. i chop the walnuts until they are super fine. i love this recipe.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: KERASE
This dish is fit for a Sultan,or the King of your house. Very easy to prepare. I served it over basmati rice. My husband is from the middle east & he said it was as good as any he has ever had!We found the Pomegranate syrup at a Lebanese shop-it was called pomegranate molassas. Don't be put off by it's sweet appearance-this dish is a sweet & sour masterpiece,in looks as well as taste!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: STEPHIE-JO
I made this for my wife for Valentine's Day this past February. I was a little hesitant at first because, although I love pomegranates, my wife was only indifferent to pomegranates. We both abosolutely LOVED the flavour of this dish. We had some left and give it to my mother-in-law. She loved it too. I spent three and a half years living in Iran in during the 1970s when my father was stationed there while in the U.S. Air Force. I never ran across the dish, but when I saw it, I just had to make it. My wife is wondering when I will make it again. If you can get or make some barbary bread to go with it and serve it over white rice you will have a close to authentic Persian dining experience.
 
06 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Halo
I am Iranian,and I find this recipe missing sugar. There are different versions of this dish in Iran; at North people make it tart, in Tehran it's more sweet and in west they make it sour and sweet. I personally like the latter. For having that fabulous sour & sweet taste you need less pomegranade paste and some sugar (usually 2-3 spoon sugar for 5-6 spoon paste for 2 lb chicken) Though it depends on your taste. Anyhow I thought you might find it work better for you.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: Kathleen Bayramian
This dish is fit for a Sultan,or the King of your house. Very easy to prepare. I served it over basmati rice. My husband is from the middle east & he said it was as good as any he has ever had!We found the Pomegranate syrup at the middle eastern store-it was called pomegranate molassas. Don't be put off by it's sweet appearance-this dish is a sweet & sour masterpiece,in looks as well as taste!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Apr 2004
Reviewed by: JENNIFER72_00
This has been one of my favorites for many years but I make it a little bit differently. First, I use about half of the walnuts. After cooking the chicken breasts, I cut them into smaller pieces and instead of simmering the entire mixture in a skillet for 20 minutes, I bring the onion, ground walnuts, chicken, pomegranate paste and a cup or two of water (until it looks soupy) to a boil in a saucepan and add a bit of sugar and turmeric. I then cover and simmer for almost 2 hours. It's ready when the mixture has thickened. This has to be served on top of plain white rice - basmati is the best.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: Shell Nik
Fesenjun over rice is my alltime favorite Persian dish. My Iranian husband learned how to make this from his father who is an excellent cook. The way they make it is the best. They fry the onion in oil along with the chicken until the onion is tender and the chicken is lightly browned. Then they remove the chicken and onions to a pot. Then walnuts finely ground up in a food processor are browned in the skillet with the remaining oil. Then the ground and browned walnuts are added to the pot of chicken and onions along with around 8-10 ounces of pomegranate syrup, 1/4 cup of sugar (if using Turkish Pomegranate syrup) and about 2 cups of water. Then it is cooked for about an hour until the water cooks down and it is thick and the chicken breasts are starting to pull apart and then it served over rice with a dollop of plain yogurt on the side. YOU SHOULD NOT USE POMEGRANATE PASTE OR JUICE! It should be Pomegranate SYRUP and you have to pay attention to where the syrup is from. If it is Iranian pomegranate syrup you probably won't have to add sugar unless you want it to be sweeter. Turkish Pomegranate syrup is more sour so you will probably want to add sugar. You can make this dish sweet, sour or sweet & sour depending on your taste as it is made in these various ways in different parts of Iran.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes