My Reviews (44)

Raisin Scones

I call these scones but they're a bit like thick biscuits. They are moist, light and sweet, perfect with tea in the afternoon.
Reviews (44)


12 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Jillian
Oh my, these are some of the best tea biscuits ever and being half English I know my tea biscuits! I am so happy to be the first to rate this recipe. These come very close to my Grandmother's! I used a full cup of raisins and doubled the amount of sugar because I like my tea biscuits a little on the sweet side. I also used half and half vs. milk. After I cut the biscuits, I let them set for 30 minutes to let the baking powder "react" in order to get them big and fluffy. After I did the egg wash, I topped them with a bit of turbinado sugar before popping them in the oven. These came out moist, light, fluffy, and simply delicious - perfect with a cup of tea! I have also made these substituting the raisins with miniature chocolate chips or dried cranberries. Thanks What's for dinner, mom? for a great recipe - my Mom (Nancy) requested these while she was in the hospital and I was so happy to have been able to make them for her one last time....
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jul 2010
This recipe duplicates the Tea Biscuits we find at our local grocery store. They are not very sweet. My husband prefers them to the bakery style that have more sugar and vanilla. If you prefer a sweeter biscuit then up the sugar to 1/2 cup. Add in 1 tbsp vanilla extract and 1/4 tsp lemon or orange extract. That will give you the bakery style. Those are my favorite --The original recipe was for lactose free biscuits. In order to do this I used vanilla soy milk or almond milk. I also use Fleishmann's margarine as it is parve. I also used dried cranberries in place of the raisins for this batch. YUM! On the days where lactose is not an issue - I have also tried using buttermilk and found it to work very, very well! **********8/15/10 -Made these in my new biscuit cast iron pan - really easy! I preheated the pan and when the dough was ready I skipped the rolling stage and simply scooped about 1/2 cup of batter into each of the little pans. They baked nicely and in a uniform size AND without all the extra work of rolling them out, getting a biscuit cutter, re-rolling scraps and lessened the clean up which was a big bonus. I did pat the dough down to make the tops smoother and topped with cinnamon sugar - no egg wash this time. I am very happy with the results so if you have a scone pan, large capacity muffin pan or a cast iron biscuit pan - give it a try!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: B L
Wow. I reviewed these yesterday but my review is gone. I will try again. I made these with the extra raisins and sugar mentioned in Jillian's review and they were delicious! I used half butter and half 'smart balance' cuz it has some health benefits and I could not be more pleased with the results. Will definitely make again and this was so easy I am inspired to try making plain biscuits too. Highly recommend!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Linda M
These were really great. My husband always likes something to have with his coffee each morning and these were perfect. You can adjust the sugar to your own preference for sweetness, change flour to whole wheat and add cinnamon, etc for additional flavors. I soak my raisins in orange juice that I warn in the microwave to instill a little extra flavor into the raisins.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Chips
These were so easy! I tried it with double the sugar, but they were waaay too sweet. So I tried it again with 1/4 cup of sugar instead. It was sweet, but not too sugary. It's a great recipe and I'll be using it again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Samantha Winters
These are SOOO good!!! I listened to a previous review and doubled the sugar and raisens, I was worried that it would be too sweet but it wasn't, it was just perfect! The dough is a bit hard to work at first, especially when adding in the raisens but just keep pushing through because these turn out great!! Also, I found that I had to bake these more like 25 min instead of what the recipe called for.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: Michele F.
Saw raisin tea biscuits in store today, and being a baker I hate to pay the price in supermarket. Came home and saw this recipe and read reviews, so I used a cup raisins and 1/4 cup sugar and the rest followed exactly... the best i have ever eaten... had 2 already and thinking I better put them away ... thx for a great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: LaLa1601
Very Very easy recipe and the tea biscuits were gone!!!! My co-workers enjoyed them and the most popular comment was 'its not too sweet'. They were very easy to make, thank you for the recipe. Oh i added a teaspoon of almond essence and they came out excellent. I used regualr parkay butter (what i had on hand at the moment).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: ZOPOOH
These were great! Taste was spot on and couldn't be quicker or easier to make. Would be almost exactly like a Hardee's raisin biscuit with a glaze on top. Will definitely be in the rotation for breakfast
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: sogg
Very good and quick to make! I added in some vanilla just to give them some extra flavour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes