My Reviews (58)

Sweet Pumpkin Mochi

Mochi is a traditional Japanese dessert. You can find mochiko (glutinous rice flour) at supermarkets and Asian shops.
Reviews (58)


25 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: misserin13
This has become a seasonal favorite in my home. It makes a great breakfast treat with coffee. The texture seems odd at first, so odd that you have to keep eating it until suddenly you realize you've eaten half the pan and you still want more! I add 1 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice, which seems to cut the sweetness a touch and make it even more like pumpkin pie and spice cake had a delicious, gooey baby.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Seattle Dad
Call it Mochi. Call it cake. Call it whatever you want, just as long as you save me a big ol' hunk of it. I just made this on a whim to see if it might be something to have on Thursday and couldn't be more pleased with how it turned out. Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Elsa Zavala
It was really good. Kinda like eating a cake only it was mochi-like-chewy. I would call it cake rather than mochi though. But overall great!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: clue
my friend makes a similar mochi cake with cherry pie filling, which is amazing. i wanted to do this holiday version for thanksgiving, but used a little less sugar (~1 3/4 c.) and a little more vanilla (~2 1/2 tsp). i added ~3/4 of the pie filling to the batter before pouring it into the pan, but spooned the rest on top & ran a plastic knife back & forth to create a marbleized look. i also cut the cake into 48 little squares & served them in cupcake papers (the way my friend does w/ the cherry mochi). it's a pretty dense cake & esp at thanksgiving w/ so many desserts available, you only need a little bite (you can always get seconds!) it turned out really well & next time i'd just leave it in the oven for 5 more min to let the pumpkin on top set a little more.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Kayu
When it first comes out of the oven and it's still warm, you won't think it's mochi at all, but just gooey cake......delicious, yes, but not very mochi-like. well give it lots of time to cool off, and it'll reach a much more mochi-like texture. not exactly like mochi but very close and very tasty!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Nov 2010
Love all kinds of mochi....pumpkin being one of my favorites! The recipe was PERFECT. Only problem I have is wanting to eat the entire pan.....
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Catherine Villanueva
This is excellent. I healthified it in a few ways- used half splenda, egg whites, and applesauce (1 cup for a half recipe) with 1 tbsp of butter. Still turned out moist and delicious, my Korean husband was quite impressed.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Emily C.
This was fun and different. I wouldn't call it mochi though, it was basically just a cake. But good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Stefania
I wasn't quit sure what to expect, and this was ok. I had mochiko I wanted to use up and came across this recipe. It's fairly easy to make. I did improvise because I only had a 15 oz can of pumpkin, so I used applesauce with it to make up for the difference. Also, I used oil instead of butter because I didn't have enough of that either. Maybe it would've been better if I had stuck to the original recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: adrienne tran
Great recipe. It tastes like fluffy, slightly chewy, bread. I don't taste as much pumpkin as I had expected, but that's not the recipe's fault. It tastes fairly light for all that sugar included in the recipe! I would recommend watching the baking time. Although I did 9 servings instead of the recipe's 12, only 15-20 minutes passed before it started slightly burning (btw it tastes better when its brown)- it doesn't taste burnt, its just more chewy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes