My Reviews (695)

Ginger and Pumpkin Cupcakes

Even people who don't like pumpkin or ginger love these cupcakes. These disappear as fast as I can set them out!
Reviews (695)


18 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: cupcakegirl2
I just made these cupcakes and they are very good. I didn’t have crystallized ginger on hand so I used 1 1/4 teaspoons of ground ginger instead .The batter yielded 30 regular cupcakes (filling the muffin liners half full). Filling them half way gives you plenty of room to cover the cupcakes with frosting so the cupcakes don't dry out. They came out very moist and fluffy. The next time I make them, I am going to use ½-cup butter and a ½-cup applesauce. I used cream cheese and butter frosting with cinnamon and vanilla … yummy! Thanks for the recipe! If your cupcakes fall during the baking process it could be because… * your butter is not room temp (do not microwave) * you don't cream the butter until light before adding the sugar * you throw many things in at the same time * you don't scrape down the bowl a few times while butter & sugar are creaming * your eggs are cold when you add them to the butter-sugar light fluffiness * you add all your eggs at once * you don't sift your flour and leavening * you dump all your dries in at once
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Dianne
Amazing cupcakes! Moist and tender, great flavor. The crystallized ginger adds just the right amount of kick. I forgot to get butterscotch pudding mix at the store, so I used what I had in my pantry - french vanilla pudding mix. I loved the result! For those not familiar with crystallized ginger, it is ginger that has been dried and sugared. When you first bite into it, it has a sweet lemony flavor, but then as you start chewing, you are hit with a peppery zing. A very interesting ingredient, and a perfect addition to these cupcakes! I found that I did have to bake the cupcakes more like 27 minutes (my oven runs cooler, so I actually baked them at 355, but it still took 27 minutes for them to be done). They are wonderful unfrosted, but I couldn't help frosting half the batch with "Allspice Cream Cheese Frosting" from this site. The combination is amazing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: PDURON
A great recipe - try it with Jello Pumpkin Spice Pudding -- available seasonally! Yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: TwoSweetPickles
100% perfection. I followed the recipe to the letter...there's not a thing that needs to be changed. The zip and texture of the crystalized ginger makes this recipe for me. I frosted them with cinnamon cream cheese frosting and sprinkled on a bit of cinnamon and sugar to finish. Absolutely wonderful...I make a LOT of cupcakes and this is going into my favorites folder!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Anna K. Crossley
These cupcakes were fabulous. I was looking for a new way to use up fresh pumpkin and these were it! I used Splenda and no-salt margarine instead of the sugar and butter and noticed no difference. I also used nutmeg instead of the all-spice and left out the crystallized ginger. I topped with canned cream cheese icing and that took these over the top. They were easy to make and baked up perfectly. Will definitely make them again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: dsimplewife
Made these as the snack for my four year old Preschool class...teacher said they all ate them and loved them! No icing needed - absolutely delicious and I don't even like pumpkin!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Julie
Hit of the party. I had someone say, "These are to die for!" The guests @ the party also said that these were easily better than a local cupcakery (that charges a small fortune for a cupcake)! I did replace 1 stick of butter with appplesauce and used extra ground ginger instead of the crystallized ginger. Used vanilla pudding instead of butterscotch b/c that is all I had on hand. Frosted w/ a cinnamon cream cheese icing - 8oz crm. chz., 1 stick butter, 2tsp vanilla, 2tsp (or more) cinnamon, and 3c powdered sugar. Amazing! **Update** Short on time and made this in a 9x13 pan @ 350 for 40ish minutes. Still delicious!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: ASPINELLI23
I agree with the reviewers that these were very moist and the spices were nice. However, the end result was a bit sweet for my liking - especially when iced. Admittedly, I have a sensitive sweet tooth. I don't like very sweet things. I used a cream cheese icing for these cupcakes. Perhaps a dark chocolate icing would be better? Or, maybe try this without icing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Paige
Very moist and delicious! I didn't frost these as I felt they were great on their own!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: jennalcb
LOVED THESE! I made these for my son's first birthday. I wanted to make something that had some nutritional value, so I made these with a few modifications. I used about 1/2 Quinoa flour and made with all organic ingredients. It was hard to find an organic butterscotch pudding, but I was able to find one at Whole Foods. These were a huge hit!! Most people ate more than one! I will double the recipe next time because they go fast!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes