My Reviews (695)

Ginger and Pumpkin Cupcakes

Even people who don't like pumpkin or ginger love these cupcakes. These disappear as fast as I can set them out!
Reviews (695)


28 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Taryn It Up
I loved these. I followed the recipe, minus the crystalized ginger. Still VERY good! Moist, delicious cupcakes with the taste of the season in them. I made a simple cream cheese frosting with 4oz cream cheese, 1/2 cup butter, 2 cups powdered sugar, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp cinnamon. What a hit with everyone!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Lisa Lewis
Hi. I'm the creater of this recipe; here are some helpful hints: For those of you who tossed the batter because it was thick - so sorry! It IS thick - pumkin and pudding mix do that. For those of you in the future who get worried, don't! ***** Some people have commented on the difficulty of finding crystalized ginger. It's the same as candied ginger, sugared ginger, or ginger chips - they are all just different names/sizes. The two best places I can always find it, and really inexpensively, are Publix, in the bulk items ($5 a pound) and World Market - $3 for a jar or the ginger chips by the Ginger People (they sell them on their website, too, but they are a little more$). ***** If you are getting more of a muffin than a cupcake, you're not creaming your sugar and butter long enough. It should be really fluffy. You'll probably want to scoop the batter into the tins.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Lisa Goulet
I set out a pkg. of cream cheese to soften while the cupcakes cooled. We decided to try a couple while we waited. They were so good and moist, I put the cream cheese back in the fridge. I'll use it for something that can actually be improved by frosting it. The best cupcake I've ever tasted! (Maybe a light dusting of powdered sugar for those who want to dress them up visually, but as far as flavor goes, they're perfect.)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Gwen on the West Coast
Wow, these cupcakes are outrageously delicious. I made a couple of modifications: (1) instead of using 1 cup butter, I used 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce; and (2) I only used 3 large eggs, not 4. Also, usually when I bake cupcakes, I lightly spray the inside of the foil with vegetable oil so the cupcakes don't stick too much to the wrapper. Baked them for twenty minutes. I used a vanilla frosting and then decorated them with Halloween themed sprinkles. I think these would be perfect for a holiday party. They are scrumptious - so moist! Thank you for the recipe. I will also make them around Thanksgiving.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: The Bunny Chef
Just as a warning, the mixture had tons of tiny flecks of butter-sugar no matter if you use room temperature eggs or cold ones. Go on and add the dry ingredients and the lumps will disappear. I left out the crystallized ginger (couldn't find it), so upped the ginger to 1/2 tablespoon. The first time I made this recipe, I baked it in a bundt pan for about 45 minutes, then frosted it with tinted store bought cream cheese frosting to look like a pumpkin- covered an ice cream cone in green frosting for the stem. The cake turned out really, really well- so moist and with great flavor and really cute. The second time I actually made it into cupcakes! I frosted the cupcakes with cream cheese frosting made by beating together 8 oz softened cream cheese, 1/2 cup softened salted butter, 3 1/2-4 cups powdered sugar, and 1/2 tablespoon butter flavoring. I know the butter flavoring sounds bizarre, but it somehow mellows out and brings the other flavors together. The wonderful frosting on the fantastic cupcakes made these some of the best cupcakes I've ever had!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: Angelina
If I could give this more stars I would!!! It's AMAZING!!! I was out of crystallized ginger so I used 1 1/4 tsp. of ground ginger instead, but didn't change one other thing! Moist, delicious and my family gobbled them up! I also used the "Cream Cheese Frosting II" with this...it's also quite amazing!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: wrybread
These are fantastic!! I didn't have any butterscotch pudding so I used vanilla but other than that I followed the recipe as written. Everybody LOVED them! My stepdaughter even said they were better than the ones they sell in the coffee shop where she works!! I frosted them with the Cream Cheese Frosting II recipe from this site (which is also fantastic) and decorated them as eyeballs for Halloween. A huge, huge hit! These are definitely a keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: naples34102
I tasted the batter before I baked these and my first impression was that I would be leaving a 5-star review. The flavor is great - tastes just like pumpkin pie! The cupcakes baked up nicely too. But... first of all, the yield is off - this recipe makes more than 24 cupcakes, so plan ahead. Second, 20 minutes is not enough cooking time. Plan on about five minutes longer. Last, and most important, while the flavor is wonderful, in large part because of the peppery, crystallized ginger, the texture is a little "gummy,' for lack of a better word. A little TOO moist, maybe, and even a little too sweet - I suspect the pudding mix is the culprit. I'm sure this recipe, minus the pudding mix, would produce a far better result.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Kym Cox Surridge
I made this as a cake, and it came out unbelievably moist. I used a mix of unbleached and oat flour, and I used fresh pumpkin, which I baked and then pureed with the wet ingredients. The market was out of crystallized ginger, so I used fresh. This is so moist and delicious, it doesn't even need frosting, but I'm sure it would be great topped with whipped cream--just like pumpkin pie.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Teri Niadna
Wow! These are amazing and easy to make. I halved the recipe, and made mini cupcakes instead of full sized ones (adjusted the baking time down to 16 minutes). I also didn't have any cloves, so I left them out - they were still delicious! Might try adding some nuts to the batter next time, but will definitely make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes