My Reviews (240)

Pumpkin Gingersnap Cheesecake

This cheesecake should be refrigerated overnight after baking for best results. The gingersnap crust makes it really unique.
Reviews (240)


27 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: misheclark
I used the recipe to make mini cheesecakes, as another reviewer suggested. I used ginger snaps in the bottom of lined muffin cups and filled with batter. Baked at 325 for about 20 minutes. Made 28 cheesecakes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: mnmspencer
very good cheesecake.... but definetly don't use 6 Tbs of butter in the crust. Way too much, and all it does is spill out the sides and into your oven, or pan below (if you thought to put one there) I would just use 2 or 3 Tbs next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: ERIKA
To tell you the truth is really good, but my party liked it a lot more than I did and it vanished within hours! :D
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Moose
I've made this recipe twice. Once as written, and the second time modified into individual cheesecakes. First time it was wonderful--and the individual cheesecakes went over great as well. For individual-sized cheesecakes, just spray muffin/cupcake liners with baker's joy spray (or equivalent), and axed the maple syrup and hazelnuts from the recipe. Halved it... and ended up with 12 perfect mini cheesecakes. (A trip into the freezer is a must before removing the cheesecakes from the liners). Posted a picture. Great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: ~M~
I give it five stars because it's good on it's own but with my changes it's AWESOME! I didn't use nuts in the crust because of family nut allergies. 2 cups crumbs to help make the crust crustier. 1.5 CANS of pumpkin. Double cinnamon and allspice and add nutmeg to taste. I cook it on a cookie sheet because the butter tends to drip out of the spring form pan and make a giant mess in my oven. Thanks for this great recipe. It made me a lot of friends at work too
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Kathryn Krische
Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: thisgurlluvs2cook
Wonderful pumpkin cheesecake recipe. I made this last year for thanksgiving and everyone devoured it and rated it 2 thumbs up, plus. So this year, I will be making it again. I don't use the hazelnuts but just add more gingersnaps and a bit of graham crackers. Everything else I follow to a T. Also, the key to a crack free top is to avoid overbeating the mix. Watch your oven temp and bring the cheesecake out a bit earlier then listed in the recipe. Cheesecake will keep cooking after the oven is off and will firm up as it cools. Yumm!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: BEAR KEEPER
AMAZING. This is the BEST cheesecake I have ever made, and I have made many. I did increase the spices (mostly cinnamon and a little ginger) and added some pumpkin spice mix as well. I used a water bath, which resulted in a perfect, crack-free surface. For the topping I whipped cream with a tsp vanilla, a tsp sugar, a tbsp vanilla pudding powder (to help it set better) and a squirt of maple syrup. I put this all over the cake like a frosting and then sifted cinnamon/sugar through a heart cut-out to make a heart pattern on top. It turned out better than I expected! Also served on top a drizzle of a maple bourbon caramel sauce: 1/2 c butter, 2 tbsp maple syrup, 1 c brown sugar, splash bourbon and 1/2 c cream, all brought to a boil and then allowed to sit until room temp. Fabulous. Wish I'd taken a picture. Usually my desserts are not very photogenic, but this one turned out great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Christie Carnes Myers
Everyone at the Thanksgiving reunion said this was the best cheesecake they had ever eaten! It is a new tradition! I only modified the recipe by adding pecans to the crust and a little extra cinnamon to the cake. I also made my own cinnamon whipped cream to top off this yummy cake. This cake does leak. I wrapped my pan in aluminum foil before baking, and I'm sure glad I did! Also, the cake cracks even when heated with water in the oven. Make sure you have some whipped cream on hand to cover the crack! Otherwise, this is a smooth, delicious, light cheesecake. Enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: sailshonan
4.5 stars. The crust gets soggy even though I used only 4 T butter as some reviewers suggested. I think I'll make my standard graham cracker crust next time. This cake gets better as the days go by, even though I prepared it on Tuesday for Thanksgiving, I would suggest making it at least three days ahead for more intense cheese flavor. I have baked maybe half a dozen cheesecakes in my life and I've always had cracking problems, even tjough I used the cool down gradually/wooden spoon handle method. When I was 20, I baked a cake in a water bath and it leaked into the pan and I've always been frightened of using a water bath again. Well, this time I tried a water bath and used a tip from a reviewer--use the 18" wide aluminium foil (don't skimp and get the cheap kind--get the heavy duty Reynold's) and the cheese cake was perfect. Looked beautiful, no cracking. I cooked it on 325 F for 90 min, then 60 min with the door cracked open and the oven off. Grease the sides of the pan well so it won't stick to the sides when it expands and contracts and crack the edges. There's a great video on this site that explains cheesecakes in a H2o bath.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes