My Reviews (104)

Mock Sourdough

A delicious white bread that tastes like sourdough, without all the effort. The trick is using sour cream and barley flour. Your bread machine does all the work.
Reviews (104)


25 Feb 2015
Reviewed by: BrendaClough
I got a beautiful loaf of bread out of this recipe but it raised way too high. The recipe didn't state what size loaf this makes so I don't know if I need to adjust one of my ingredients or the recipe is for a bigger loaf than my bread maker can handle. The max for mine is 11/2 lbs. Hoping you will let us know what size recipe is for.
 
18 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: JENNIFER72_00
I used all bread flour and light sour cream instead of regular. This had to be the most perfect loaf of bread I've ever made, but sourdough it was not. It tasted like a regular white bread but the texture was incredible, the inside was so soft and spongy and the crust was crisp without being crunchy or thick and it was just the right color. It also freezes well and makes excellent toast.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: Jeanie
This recipe is fantastic. I used all bread machine flour because I didn't have any barley flour either. I also used low fat sour cream. Honestly you couldn't tell the diffence. Also, after the first kneading and rise, I added one small onion chopped up to the bread machine and let it work into the loaf on it's own. It made the house smell wonderful and gave the bread an absolutely fabulous taste. I am so impressed with this recipe. You have to try it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Lupin Pooter
Terrific recipe. Had to use all bread flour as didn't have barley flour or potato flakes and also used fat free sour cream. Bread still came out beautifully fluffy and tastily tangy. Thank you.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: MEHUNGRY98
Great bread! Was a little sweeter than the typical sourdough, but a great bread. I used fat free sour cream and added fresh minced garlic and fresh rosemary to the dough - yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: Christianne
This recipe was very good as printed. I also did another version that turned out well to serve with Mexican dishes: add finely chopped fresh garlic and jalepeno peppers (to taste, I put in 4 of each), and 2 T. cornmeal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: DISPATCH132
I have made this bread recipe many times and it is wonderful. I like it because you don't have to wait for a starter to ripen. It's a quick fix at any time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: DragonLady
A very tasty, easy to make bread. I tried it several times, in my bread machine & in the oven (it still worked great). Not quite like real sourdough, but, a good substitute. I did make a few minor changes to add more of a 'sour tang' to the bread. I used 1 cup of real sour cream & 1 1/2 tablespoons of vinegar & a 1/4 cup more flour. It turned out tangy & chewy with a nice crust. My hubby & 3 yr old both devour this bread, they'll eat it right out of the oven.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jul 2001
Reviewed by: CapeCodLorrie
Excellent flavor and texture and the crust is amazing (I set the crust control to medium). This one is definitely a "keeper". I didn't have barley flour and ran out of bread flour so I used mostly all purpose flour and added 1 Tbs. Vital Wheat Gluten. It baked up nice and tall ~ so nice and tall that I'm glad I didn't scale it up to a 2 lb. loaf. Thanks for sharing this recipe with us.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: JPEREZ26
This baked perfectly in my bread machine. Very soft and fluffy inside. I used all bread flour since I didn't have barley flour. Great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes