My Reviews (36)

Honey Pear Muffins

In these muffins you actually get better results if you use tinned pears rather than fresh. You can also add a little citrus zest.
Reviews (36)


14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: CURTISLEE
I'm giving this recipe a "4," mostly on potential. Maybe it will be a "5" with some tinkering. It's pretty good, as is, but it lacks a little flavour. For those that prefer a subtle, laid back flavour -- this recipe might be okay "as is." For me, next time I make these, I intend to add about 2 tbsp sugar and maybe another half tin of pears. I've only been cooking for a few years, but I've learned that the best recipes are usually specific, so the cook doesn't have to guess. Finally, I wonder if adding more nutmeg and cinnamon would help the cause also.
 
Comment:
14 Jul 2008
JMCCOMBS said:
Used different ingredients. used fresh pears instead of tinned, substituted apple sauce for oil & used fat free yoghurt
 
Comment:
14 Jul 2008
Manuela said:
Used different ingredients. used fresh pears. They need more flavour.
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: REYNBOW
They turned out nice and moist, but lacking flavour. I would add sugar and another tin of pears.
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: RED26
nice and fluffy
 
26 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: CURTISLEE
I'm giving this recipe a "4," mostly on potential. Maybe it will be a "5" with some tinkering. It's pretty good, as is, but as Reynbow correctly pointed out, it lacks a little flavor. For those that prefer a subtle, laid back flavor--this recipe might be okay "as is." For me, next time I make these, I intend to add about 1/8 cup sugar and maybe another half can of pears. One thought; Holly may have intended for this recipe to use vanilla yogurt, which already has sugar and offers more flavor than plain yogurt (without sugar added). I've only been cooking for a few years, but I've learned that the best recipes are usually specific, so the cook doesn't have to guess. Finally, I wonder if bumping up the nutmeg and cinnamon would help the cause also.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jun 2000
Reviewed by: Manuela
used fresh pears. They need more flavour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 May 2000
Reviewed by: JMCCOMBS
used fresh pears instead of canned, substituted apple sauce for oil & used fat free yogurt
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: AuntieJ
We liked these. They are very tasty when added flavorings (suggested by previous reviewers) are used. I doubled the amounts of pears, cinnamon and nutmeg, added a tablespoon of ground flax seed, and used vanilla yogurt instead of plain yogurt. To skinny it down for my diet plan, I used unsweetened applesauce (for the oil), 1/4 cup egg substitute for the egg, and fat-free yogurt. This is a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Mar 2000
Reviewed by: RED26
nice and fluffy, although i was thinking that you could probley use some flavored yogart to just it some added flavor
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes