My Reviews (466)

Crispy Sweet Potato Latkes

These delicious latkas have potato, sweet potato, onion, eggs, garlic salt and a bit of white pepper. They are a lovely twist on the traditional potato pancake.
Reviews (466)


09 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: ~TAYLOR~
What I like to do with these is to grate the potatoes, as opposed to shredding. I find the texture much more appealing. More like a potato pancake, instead of a true latkes, but that's just my personal preference. For every 2 cups of grated potato, one egg is really a sufficient binder, and any more than that just makes them too heavy. I also use alot less salt, but that again is to taste. Instead of the flour, I have also found better results substituting matzoh ball mix, which contains baking soda and seasonings. They seem to come out lighter, and more flavorful this way. Don't forget to add the grated onion... it's an absolute must in my opinion, and here again, I add twice as much. And I personally have never bothered with the cheesecloth thing. As you lift out spoonfuls, the moisture simply seeps to the bottom of the bowl. No problem. Don't wait for Hannukah to enjoy these treats, and don't forget the applesauce (or sour cream.) Enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Savta Sinda
I love making Latkes the easy way!! I use the Simply Potatoes already grated! They make wonderful and delicious Latkes!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Laura K
These latkes were so awesome, just like my grandmother and mom used to make. I only used 1 egg per 2 cups of potato. I used the food processor's large grater blade and kept the grated potato in ice water until I had all the ingredients in the bowl and then squeezed the water out and added them. I used matzoh meal instead of flour and I used about triple the grated onion. I fried them in vegetable oil. They were great, but definitely on the salty side. The mixture was a little watery but it made no difference in the end, there was liquid in the bowl when I was done. I think the matzah meal was key. Next time I would use less salt.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: BETTYTAMS
This was a bit eggy for me. I will definitely only use 1 egg next time. I prefer to be able to taste the potato more. Also, I read an article about the perfect latke and it said the best temperature is 350 degrees. I used my metal thermometer to make sure it was that hot before I started and it made a big difference. The cooked perfectly. I have had them fall apart before in the past.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: CHEFTASTY
I made these for Easter/Passover and they turned out great! I remember when my mom would make these, and she would always complain about the shredding of the potatoes, but it really wasn't a big deal--in fact, it was kind of fun. To keep the potatoes from oxidizing, I would ring out the water from the potatoes after every two thirds of a potato peeled with paper towels (because I didn't have cheese cloth on hand). Paper towels worked just fine. The sooner you ring out the potatoes after shredding, the less oxidation occurs. Once rung out, they keep pretty well. I also added extra onion. I was told to be a true latke, you make them small and thin, and cook the heck out of them. The cooking took longer than the shredding, that's for sure. Excellent as leftovers, too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: CHEFWANDA
This was AMAZING. I didnt have peanut oil so I used vegetable.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Rosa
These were really delicious! I doubled the onions and still needed more...I'll add more next time. I went with other reviewers and added garlic powder and only used 1 egg per 2 cups of shredded potatoes. It was a bit on the salty side so next time I'll reduce the salt. Very easy to make - great recipe...thanks Rachel!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: LHS624
I have never made Latkes before but these were a breeze! I used my food processor (I know..kind of cheating) and it was so simple. I also used olive oil instead of peanut oil and they still tasted great. Thanks Rachel!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: JORGINE
I just made these for brakfast and loved them. I didn't have an onion so used powdered onion and some garlic salt. The first time i made them to thick. The next batch i made thinner and they were more crunchy and much better. yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: TEEBEE2002
So simple, yet so tasty. I get out the food processer and use the grating blade for the onions and potatoes, then squeeze the liquid out using a towel. My picky family even eats the applesauce and sour cream served with them. I used chives instead of green onions.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes