My Reviews (20)

Cream Cheese Rice Cake

For a change from the usual cake, try this Polish recipe which uses rice, cream cheese, sultanas and cream.
Reviews (20)


03 May 2002
Reviewed by: JALAPENOLADY
I added 1 cup of suger to the recipe and shifted suger and cinnamon on top when it was done baking and it was very good. My two year old granddaughter loved it, Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Java_Girl
Good cake/rice pudding! I don't think cake is a good title for this but either way it's quite yummy. I was concerned that there was no sugar but I figured the submitter left it out on purpose. Based on other reviews, I decided to split the batch between 2 8x8 glass dishes. One batch was made exactly as instructed, the other had 1/3c sugar added to it. The sugar batch was sweet, the original was a little more mellow. The golden raisins gave so much sweetness it really makes up for the lack of sugar. Both ways taste great but next time I think I'll add maybe 1/2c sugar to the whole batch. The pic is of the original version, no sugar added.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: AEMAZA
Excellent flavor...much better than I expected. I made this for a Polish festival dinner and it went well...even the young kids wanted more. I did add 1 1/3 cup sugar and it was perfect. I also used raisins soaked in rum for added flavor. A definte Polish keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: JUNEMAMA
This recipe was an impressive success at my church coffee hour. I thought the Polish rice cake might make a nice change from the usual Danish's and doughnuts. People actually sought me out to get the recipe. Its moist texture and not-too-sweet taste remind me of other Polish cakes I've tried. The recipe doesn't call for sugar, but I decided to add 1/2 cup of white sugar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: suedade
This makes a huge cake, rather strange i don't know what i was expecting but its a solid rice pudding,I loved it cause i love rice pudding, adding choc dots would be nice as well. Verdict very nice as a pudding, i would make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
22 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Pixie M
I loved this recipe and did not add any sugar, but served with a strawberry compote instead
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: Patti-Cake
Pretty good. However, I found the rice a little too "al dente". Next time I'd probably add more milk when cooking the rice or substitute long-grain with arborio. I also found that adding 1 cup of sugar was not enough. I think that 1 1/4 to 1 1/2 cups would be best. I baked it in a 10" spring-form and sprinkled the top with a little cinnamon. All-in-all it is a pretty easy cake to make and it tasted even better 2 days later.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Oct 2004
Reviewed by: JENIQUES
The consistancy of this was good but it wasn't a hit at my house. I regret not having read that others added sugar to it, if I had done that I think my family would have eaten more of it!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 May 2002
Reviewed by: DEELINDSAY
It is a wonderfully moist cake....not too sweet either. Great all day long.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: Lynn Mcirish
didn't like the consistency
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes