My Reviews (60)

Sauerkraut Casserole

This easy and delicious casserole combines mushroom soup, sauerkraut, kielbasa and noodles for a truly savoury experience!
Reviews (60)


01 May 2002
Reviewed by: Mama Pepper
We enjoyed this very much.Did make some adjustments, however. I scaled the recipe to four servings and it made quite a bit; enough for 6 people. A couple of the reviews mentionned dryness so I cooked the noodles first. No problem with moisture. Instead of whole wheat bread, I used polish rye. I used the food processor since it is a hard bread and this worked well. I melted 2 tablespoons of butter in a skillet and then added the crumbs until butter was absorbed. I think the adjustments made a creamier, more flavorful dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: Rachael
This was absolutely delicious! It tasted just like a reuben sandwich. I had extra kielbasa, so I also increased the noodle amount slightly and added about 2 heaping tablespoons of sour cream to the soup/milk mixture. Warm, creamy and very comforting. I'll make it again for sure.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Becky
This recipe is fantastic! I did adjust a bit however, cooking the noodles first and using Rye Bread crumbs, and the results were great! A real crowd pleaser!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: SCUKROWICZ
I took this to a family potluck where it went over very well, but I thought it was missing something. The second time I made it I added caraway seed to the soup mixture and used rye bread crumbs instead of whole wheat.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: ONIOND
Excellent flavor (if you like sauerkraut!)--just beware, this is very filling! Although the leftovers are quite yummy too. I have made half the recipe and it works well in my square casserole. I made it with turkey kielbasa and 98% fat free mushroom soup and it still tasted great! UPDATE: Made this again with rye bread crumbs and it really is much tastier. I cooked for 45 minutes at 350 then took off the foil and stuck it under the broiler for 5 minutes to toast the crumbs...the best!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
I was recommended this recipe when asking what to do with kielbasa on the recipe exchange. I only used one can of sauerkraut that I rinsed and drained/pressed the water out of VERY well. I used two packages of kielbasa that I sauteed with a whole onion, then drained off the fat. I also made my own breadcrumbs and cooked the egg noodles a bit before layering them in the casserole. This recipe makes A LOT, so if you have a family who eats bigger servings then this would be eight servings. This filled a whole 9x13 glass baking dish. This was good, but I think it could be better, like with a thousand-island type homemade dressing, using chopped pickles instead of cream of mushroom soup with mustard. Perhaps with sour cream and ketchup? As is, it's a tasty casserole, though.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Feb 2001
Reviewed by: MAT
Very good! A sprinkle of caraway seeds on top of the sauerkraut adds a nice touch. Next time I make this I will use crushed rye crackers for the topping instead of bread crumbs.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: NURZZ
This is a great recipe! I am Housemother of 10 teens and triple the recipe to feed my crew. I have made this many times now, have given the recipe to other Housemothers, staff and friends. An easy recipe that is tasty (even for the non-sauerkraut eaters!)and easy on the budget. Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: love2cook
My husband loves these kind of casseroles because of the sauerkraut. This one didnt let him down and after 6 years he stills loves it. Its almost like German Lasagne!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: cheesemaker
This recipe is so unusual but my family really liked it. After reading that some had a problem with dryness, I added the whole package of sauerkraut, liquid and all into the pan. It came out nice and moist. Also, because I had some in the freezer, I made the bread crumbs out of pumpernickel bread and it was really yummy. Thanks for a different, but good recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes