My Reviews (131)

Chocolate Pizzelle Biscuits

This is my own recipe for chocolate pizzelles, Italian wafer biscuits. They are very elegant, especially dusted with icing sugar!
Reviews (131)


07 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Joan Newman
I haven't made pizzelles for many years so I looked for the perfect recipe. I read all the ones on this site as well as others on the Internet. I selected this one and really laughed when I discovered the one in my old Pizzelle Master machine box is the same. It is perfect. The batter is thick but I found no need to thin it. I used a heaping teaspoonful and placed it slightly off-center closer to the back hinges to get them to be completely round without excess batter spreading outside the mold. We all enjoyed them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Aug 2001
Reviewed by: LAURIE K
We made the chocolate version and rolled them into cones after cooking on my Krumkaka Iron. We used them as ice cream cones and the kids just thought it was the best.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: delcar
I made this 3X in one day. It is a very different batter as previously said, but nevertheless, it makes a crisp tasty pizzelle, sweeter when using the butter. I did try one batch with oil, as I'm used to, but it stuck to my machine and I was not happy with that, nor with the taste. Butter is best!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Keia Lockley
This review comes along with a little story. I was introduced to Pizzelles by one my dearest friends. As the daughter of Italian immigrants, she knows all about this delicate, and delicious treat. According to her, this recipe is the real deal! "These taste just like my godmother's...God rest her soul". I guess that pretty much says it all. If my "adopted" Italian grandma gives this recipe 5 stars, then you can best believe thst it's worth the time and effort !!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Monica G.
We've always had these in our family at Christmas but only the anise flavored ones. I usually use my Gran's recipe but my husband wanted the chocolate ones so I found this recipe. I used it for the anise ones, too, and they are perfect! The only thing I do different is still use the vanilla even when making the anise ones. It seems to lift the flavor of the entire cookie.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jan 2014
Reviewed by: RachaelF
This recipe is great. Actually, it is identical to many pizzele recipes out there. There are a couple details that are missing from it though...C hill the "batter" for a few hours before cooking it. This makes it way easier to scoop out the perfect amount with a spoon. Making pizzele can sometimes seem daunting especially around the holidays when you are baking a million other cookies. In the past I have made this dough a few days ahead, so it is sitting in the fridge ready for me whenever i have some free time to cook them! The recipe is not super sweet because it is traditional to dust them with powdered sugar after they have cooled. This obviously make them sweeter, but also enhances whatever flavoring your have added.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: Tammy Rose
Same recipe I use every year. The only change I make is to whip the egg and sugar until very frothy. This seems to make the cookies very light. Just remember to not beat the batter too much if you want light and delicate cookies.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: kdoleson
Made Pizzelles for the first time today using this recipe. My batter was thick (may have sat too long) and the first cookies out were pretty thick. I thinned the batter with milk & cream and added cardamon. The resulting pizzelles are much to our liking, reminding us of Krumkake. Next time I will use the suggestion to put the batter in a pastry bag.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Lisa
I followed the recipie exactly and these came out perfectly. Nice and crispy and not too sweet. I used my Italian mother's ANCIENT pizzelle iron to make them...so many good memories!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Aug 2013
Reviewed by: Mommy2K9Airus
I made these today - a 1/2 batch of plain & a 1/2 batch of chocolate. The chocolate batter was a good bit thicker to work with than the plain, but both resulted in a nice Pizzelle. I realized that to be Pizzelle successful, you have to find a technique that jives with your iron (some get hotter than others, some have deeper wells, the weight of the top (lid) varies among different models, etc.) and how you like your finished cookie (thin, thick, crispy, soft.) Also, how much batter you use per cookie depends on the consitency of the batter, the depth of the wells & the heaviness of your lid. Here's what I do to get a relatively thick, but crispy cookie. I drop my batter onto the iron, slightly spread it around & wait a few seconds before closing the iron, giving it a little time to cook. Then I sllllowly lower the lid, applying a little more pressure as the cookie is cooking. I've found that by doing this, you'll have a thicker cookie however, the cooking time will be slightly extended in order to fully cook the cookie. Removing them the iron too soon will result in a soft cookie, which isn't my thing when it comes to Pizzelles - I want crisp. Finally, I like to experiment with different flavored extracts (orange, banana, coconut, lemon, almond, obviously Anise) as well mixing/swirling the batters on the iron (for example, chocolate & banana or almond & orange) and lightly tinting the batter to match the flavor (orange for orange, yellow for lemon, etc.) Very yummy recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes