My Reviews (20)

Persimmon Spice Cake

Persimmons are delicious baked in a cake with spices. A fresh persimmon should feel soft and jellylike when ripe.
Reviews (20)


15 May 2016
Reviewed by: CindyPerth
Very tasty! It's a bit crumbly. Could it perhaps need an egg to bind it better or did I do something wrong?
 
30 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: MOTTSBELA
My wife made this cake for us after we got a ton of persimmons in our market box. It is moist and delicious -- awesome!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: KNBAUER
This recipe works perfectly, and tastes fabulous. I added a cream cheese icing, which gave it a great added flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: SUSEYBLUE
Didn't try it as written, so the amount of stars applies to how it came out- in this case, I changed a lot. Used whole wheat pastry flour, 1 & 1/2 c persimmon pulp, left out spices & nuts, added an egg & 1 1/2 c very fresh chopped medjool dates. I wanted a very sweet breakfast cake for coffee, & I got one . I think it would be very good with walnuts also, but wanted my baby to be able to eat some- I'll try it next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Dec 2000
Reviewed by: LMNO
great egg-free recipe for persimmons.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Maslow
I made this tonight and it was a big hit. Makes a lovely, spicey sweet cake which is a perfect treat around the holidays. I made a few modifications. First - I doubled the amount of persimmons and used a little more butter (closer to 3/4 of a cup). So it made my cake turn out very moist but still light. I also added raisins instead of the nuts, which added to the sweetness. Will definitely make it again, and want to try it in muffin format.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: yummy mummy
Made this with a few changes! I read some of the other comments. For starters, I cut down on the spices. I used 3/4 teas of cinnamon and 1/2 teas of ginger. I also added 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract. Instead of all white sugar, I used half brown sugar and half white. Turned out fabulous!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: dizziepixie
You can't taste the persimmons, but this cake is yummy! It was a great way to use up all those persimmons getting ripe on me. I followed the recipe as close as I could, except I left out the lemon zest. Try it with some whipping cream!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: AMSILVA
This was delish. The spice mixture was spot on and the aroma was wonderful.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: MoosePhysh
It tastes pretty good, but not that much like persimmon. I'll try tweaking it a bit next time to see if I can't get more of a persimmon flavor. Overall, it's a good way to get rid of a fair amount of ripe persimmons.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes