My Reviews (13)

Dutch Funny Cake

This is a Pennsylvania Dutch recipe called 'funny cake' because the chocolate layer sinks through the cake layer while baking.
Reviews (13)


21 May 2002
Reviewed by: KARISADING
Even though I carefully followed the recipe to the letter, my cakes turned out dense, dry, and not very flavorful. The chocolate layer doesn't sink to the bottom as claimed, it remains as a thin layer at the top and drips down along sides of the crust. Not sure what I did wrong?
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Sep 2000
Reviewed by: FLEMING7
Absolutely delicious!! Kids eat this one up and fight over the last piece! best of both worlds, vanilla cake with a rich chocolate bottom in a flaky pie crust. Be sure to put in batter first and pour chocolate on top!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Nov 2000
Reviewed by: WAYNE STEVENS
This recipe, with minor differences, has been a family favorite for generations. We couldn't keep it in the house once it was made. It is still one of my favorite recipes to make and consume.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: GERAANNE
I followed the recipe exactly and after the baking time was done, the inside was liquidy. I also found that the flour-based layer will seep out if not sealed by the chocolate. I've had funny cake before and was so disappointed that this recipe didn't work even after 4 failed attempts.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: KELLIBO
Loved this growing up in PA and glad to find the recipe again. Made these out here in Washington State for my church's semi-annual bake sale - now have requests to make them each time. Chocolate layer is sooo good and the cake part has a lovely vanilla flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 May 2002
Reviewed by: TECHNODAWG
I made this for my 3rd grader's art class and it was a big hit, all the teachers wanted this recipe. Thanks for a great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Pink Lady
Had the same exact problem as another reviewer. The chocolate did not sink down to the bottom like it's supposed to and there was definately not enough batter to fill 3 9" pie plates. 2 of mine turned out really shallow! However, these were tasty, but looked very strange! I think I'll keep searching for a better funny cake recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Aug 2013
Reviewed by: LAHofm
Ok I have the same recipe but we do it differently, we put the chocolate in the bottom first then pour the batter on top. We also do this in a 12 inch pie plate as it is enough to fill. I also have done it in a 9 inch tall sided pie plate. Though the 9" has to be cooked for almost an hour versus 30 minutes for the 12 inch. You have to check the center before taking it out and just let it finish. I have never had a flopped one yet. It is enough for two pies but not three if you want decent size funny cakes. Just a note, the chocolate taste better if you use Hershey's cocoa even though I have used others this is the best.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Feb 2016
Reviewed by: superauntjane
I followed another reviewers suggestion and used the filling for 2 9-inch pies rather than three. The pie crusts were my own not store bought. You would need three pie crusts if you were using store-bought crusts. I also added 1/4 cup butter to the chocolate mixture based on a recipe from a Mennonite friend. Baking time was 40 minutes in my oven. Use a toothpick to determine when pie is done. Excellent result.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Sep 2018
Reviewed by: Troy Ginter
Followed directions made 2 12 inch. And came out awesome. Great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes