My Reviews (244)

Easy Chocolate Pecan Bars

These are easy and delicious bars with pecans and chocolate. You could also use walnuts instead of pecans.
Reviews (244)


01 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: COOKIELOVER30
These are one of my favorite bars! I do the topping a little differently though. When I make them I double the butter and sugar mixture for the topping. Another reviewer said there wasn't enough to cover the bars but this solves the problem and its the best part of the bars anyway.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 May 2008
Reviewed by: KatieJL
I give this recipe a 5 star rating with the revisions I made. I took others advice and upped the flour to 2 cups and doubled the brown sugar/butter layer. I chopped up my pecan halves a bit and instead of 1 cup milk chocolate chips on top I did 1 cup semi sweet and 1 cup butterscotch swirled. HEAVEN! Oh my good ness these are so good, the butterscotch adds so much! I topped with the chips and put back on the oven to melt them completely so I could swirl them together. YUM!!!!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: Erin D.
This is almost the exact same recipe my mother handed down to me (and it is always a crowd pleaser). Her quanties on some ingredients are a little different: 2 cu. Flour 1½ cu. Pecan halves 1½ cu. milk chocolate chips Since some reviews think the posted version comes out a little greasy, the extra half cu. of flour may help to absorb that. And you can't go wrong with extra pecans and chocolate!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: MORUPE
I followed the others suggestions and used 2 c, flour and used 2 c. chocolate chips and slso lined the pan with foil. After cooling, I cut the bars into 1"x1" pieces. Making them bite size, they were neat & easy to eat. You could have several and not feel so guilty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Jewel C
These are great but make sure to use 2 c flour, 1 1/2-2 c pecans, and 2 c chocolate chips.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: CISCOKID
These are awesome! A local deli/caterer sells bars just like these, and I am so glad to have the recipe at last. I have a large family so double the recipe and cook it in a jelly roll pan. The bars are more of a toffee crunch (which is what I was looking for) so I don't think they are meant to be chewy. They turn out to be a rich, buttery, shortbread-type cookie bar topped with a crunchy praline pecan layer. MMMMMMmmmmm! Thanks for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: FAMILYJEANS
I am giving this recipe 4 stars based on how it is currently written. It is almost identical to the other turtle bars recipe on this site. I increased the flour to 2 cups total, and added 1 tsp vanilla extract to the caramel mixture. I took these to a church potluck and they disappeared! Got lots of compliments on them. Would rate this one 5+ stars with the above changes. :o)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: Deborah Chow
I recently tried some of these bars that someone else made from a different recipe. Since I didn't have that one, I checked out allrecipes and found this one. The two had similar ingredients, but came out nothing alike. These are very greasy, and not chewy like the ones I'd had. Next time I'll reduce the amount of butter...but I will be trying again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: Gravitydroppings
I did as suggested, and used 2 cups of flour and 1 1/2 cups of pecans. I found the butter/sugar filling wasn't enough to cover the bottom crust. I used semi-sweet chocolate chips instead, I think using milk chocolate chips would have made it too sweet, and it wouldn't have held it's shape as well while being cut into bars.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: LIBBI
Read previous reviews. First I sprayed the pain with a non stick spray then.. used 2C of flour, 1C of brown sugar and 1/2 C of butter in crust, 1 cup of butter with 1 cup of brown sugar in caramel sauce. Whole bag of pecan pieces and 2 C of semi sweet chocolate chips. When I took them out of the oven, I slowly added the chips to the top and watched them melt into the caramel. I thought "Oh no these will not make a nice chocolate topping to "swirl" but they did. If I did not add 2 C of chips they would not have worked the way they should have, but that extra chocolate did the trick. I put them back in the warm oven immediately and after 8 min, took them out and spread the chocolate around with my spatula. I cut the squares while still soft and left in the pan to cool some more. I had to tell the kids to stop eating them after half the pan was gone in an hour so I had some to take to work which is why I made them in the first place. I think I will make this again and again. Thanks for they recipe Marlyn!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes