My Reviews (416)

Spaghetti with Peanut Ginger Sauce

This is an Asian-themed pasta dish which uses spaghetti instead of Chinese noodles. Tastes equally good cold or warm.
Reviews (416)


10 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: SDTERP
Great base recipe. As with most people who gave four or five stars, I tinkered with the proportions. That's not a problem with the recipe, just an issue of personal tastes and preferences. Here are the quantities I used: 8 ounces spaghetti 1 bunch green onions, sliced (white parts only) (for the onions, I had access to spring bermuda onions which worked very well) 1 tablespoon sesame oil 1 tablespoon minced fresh ginger root 2 cloves garlic, minced 1/3 + 2 TBS cup peanut butter 1/8 cup soy sauce 1/3 cup hot water 1 tablespoon cider or rice) vinegar 1 teaspoon white sugar 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes (I used a couple pinches of cayenne pepper powder) I reduced the amount of soy because 1/4 cup seemed like too much sodium for me. I also tripled the ginger (1 TBS instead of 1 tsp) because I like a good, strong ginger flavor and it really turned out well. I also increased the water from 1/4 to 1/3 cup since I reduced the amount of liquid when I decreased the soy sauce. I also added a couple cloves of minced garlic which I added to the oil/onions with the ginger. As I alluded to before, the sign of a truly good recipe is one that can be easily altered to suit individual preferences! Very happy with this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: pipedreamMD
Phenomenal recipe! I always get tons of compliments when I bring this to potlucks. Because I like to tweak recipes, I added sliced chicken breast, 1 cup of coarse chopped peanuts, chopped green onions (green and white parts both), snow peas, 2 tbsps of sugar instead of 1 tsp, 2 tbsps of minced ginger, and toasted sesame seeds. The flavor really melds well together, and it's even better the next day!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: MMURKA
With some tweakng, this is one of my favorite recipes. I double the peanut butter and red pepper flakes, and usually add more water to thin the sauce. Also, I usually saute a bag of frozen vegetables--one with broccoli, peppers, water chesnuts, and sugarsnap peas, and toss that in at the end. It is delicious, and even better for lunch the next day.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: MILESOFSMILES79
This recipe is -great- as is, but with the following alterations, I think it's perfect. Use light soy sauce instead of regular (much less salty), and scramble 2 eggs along with the scallions. In addition, use rice noodles instead of spaghetti. Also, crunchy peanut butter (instead of smooth) gives it a nice texture. Garnish with either a few tablespoons of crushed peanuts, cilantro or sesame seeds.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: KVA1223
This is an extremely easy sauce to make - smells simply wonderful, I've been using it for years. Go get yourself some ginger-garlic paste from an Indian food store (you'll use it in absolutely everything) and stirfry that with carrots/zucchini/water chestnuts/shrimp etc. Then add the sauce of peanut butter and soy. To make the sauce more liquidy, add some chicken broth or my favorite, some coconut milk from a can.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: Elinor Gray
I LOVE this recipe!! I made it with chunky peanut butter, which adds crunch--I think it is important to use sesame oil--it adds such great flavor! Was surprised to read others liked it using other kinds of oil. Sesame oil has to be refrigerated, then it lasts a lONG time! The author was right--it is equally good hot, warm or cold! It will become a staple at our house, that's for sure!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: JEANNETTE777
I made this recipe for 30. I used, proportionally, four times as much ginger as recommended, and an an almost equal amount of garlic. Instead if crushed red peppers, I sauteed thai chilis with the garlic and ginger. I used red wine vinegar instead of cider. It was a crowd (and I do mean crowd!) pleaser. I often make this when I have to feed a large group now. Sesame or peanut oil both work great with this, but olive oil does just fine in a pinch.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: LucyDelRey
Awesome!! I fried some cubed extra firm tofu (thas was already pressed) before I added the dressing ingredients. I,too, reduced the amount of soy sauce by half. It was delicious and 100% VEGAN!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Mar 2001
Reviewed by: MEGAN745
I enjoyed this recipe quite a bit. However, if I do make this again I think I will reduce the amount of peanut oil...it seemed to be too much making things a little on the greasy side. Also, you should note that this dish is quite filling. We had plenty of left-overs.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: Mia Weaver
I originally made this for kids school lunches. I doubled the recipe so we could have it for dinner also the day before. Well, there wasn't any leftover for the lunches the next day. The kids loved it. My 6-yr old ate 3 bowls of it. My husband said it was a keeper. I didn't have ginger so I substituted powdered ginger. 1 tbs ginger root = 1/8 tsp powdered ginger. I also chopped 2 leftover chicken thighs in there and my picky eaters didn't notice it bec of the chucky peanut butter. I left out the red pepper flakes from the sauce so my kids would eat it and my husband and I just sprinkled red pepper flakes on our individual plates. Works fine that way. If you double the recipe, you do not need to double the sesame oil. I also did not have a problem with stickiness probably bec. I doubled the liquids.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes