My Reviews (118)

Bread of the Dead

Called "Pan de Muerto" in Mexico, this bread is baked for the Dia de los Muertos (Day of the Dead) celebration. It's a sweet bread with orange rind and anise seed.
Reviews (118)


Comment:
18 Jul 2008
MARY K said:
Took shortcuts. I baked a practice loaf but didn't need to as it turned out excellent. Good texture and flavour. I also used my bread machine on the dough cycle. Couldn't be easier, which is a good thing because my son is baking the next loaf.
 
18 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: TONIBARNETT
Nov. 2, "Day of the Dead," was also my Dad's birthday. I made a batch of Pan de Muertos and my sister and I took it out to the cemetery, where we sat beside my Dad's grave and shared the bread and special memories of him while we watched the sun set. I split the recipe into two small rounds -- one for us to share, and one to leave at the gravesite for the birds and squirrels. Sentimentality aside, this bread was surprisingly good; I was prepared to not care for it much because I'm not fond of anise, but we both really liked it. Thanks for a helping me start a new family tradition!
 
18 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: DOUBLECLIKCHIK
Although I am not a big fan of anise in bread, this was pretty good. Try it!
 
18 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: DK2FENTON
My daughter made this for her Spanish class. It was so easy. She got it right on the first try!
 
18 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: JAIME83
I made this for my Spanish class. It is sweet on the outside and a wholesome taste on the inside. I've had it once before, and my professor said it was excellent
 
22 Dec 2000
Reviewed by: TONIBARNETT
Nov. 2, "Day of the Dead," was also my Dad's birthday. I made a batch of Pan de Muertos and my sister and I took it out to the cemetery, where we sat beside my Dad's grave and shared the bread and special memories of him while we watched the sun set. I split the recipe into two small rounds -- one for us to share, and one to leave at the gravesite for the birds and squirrels. Sentimentality aside, this bread was surprisingly good; I was prepared to not care for it much because I'm not fond of anise, but we both really liked it. Thanks for a helping me start a new family tradition!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Nov 2000
Reviewed by: DK2FENTON
My daughter made this for her Spanish class. It was so easy. She got it right on the first try!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: DOUBLECLIKCHIK
Although I am not a big fan of licorice in bread, this was pretty good. I had to make it for a class assignment and everyone liked it. This was a lot easier than the one found in the newspaper. Try it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: MARY K
Once again, need it for my son's spanish class, 25 extra credit points. I baked a practice loaf but didn't need to as it turned out excellent. Good texture and flavor. I also used my bread machine on the dough cycle. Couldn't be easier, which is a good thing because my son is baking the next loaf.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Angela
I have been making Pan de Muertos for years, using different recipes, this year I both decided to use a new recipe and use my bread maker. I used the recipe with two minor changes, a little extra water no more than two tablespoons and orange extract instead of zest. Is is absolutely the fluffiest version of this bread I've ever made. In my two pound bread maker it made a nearly full sized loaf and on light setting cooked perfectly (if a little crumby on the sides).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes