My Reviews (31)

Curried Tofu Burgers

This is the tastiest vegetarian burger I have had. I keep a bowl of the mix in the fridge so I can make a quick lunch.
Reviews (31)


25 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: karlitas_way
Just a suggestion to all those cooks out there. To get this recipe where your patties wont fall apart. Drain the tofu before you get cooking. This is what I do. I take the block of tofu out and place it on a plate. I take a second plate on place it on top of the block of tofu. Then get a can of bean or corn or whatever is handy that had some weight, and place that on top of the second plate. Wait for 20-25 min, and dump the water. Hope this helps I know when I first cooked with tofu I had to research and research. This was yummy by the way, we like spicy food so I added a jalapeno and it came delish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 May 2010
Reviewed by: stella T.
I agree, very tasty! As vegetarians, my husband and I have eaten dozens of 'veggie burgers'. I will definitely make this one again, my husband really liked it, too. They were a little 'crumbly', perhaps I should use quick oats next time (I used regular)? But all in all I really liked the spice combo. Good work!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: mljain2
This is a good recipe, and I'll give it 5 stars because we like it, it's healthy, and I'll make it again. I did have to make changes though- I didn't have red curry powder, so I used curry powder plus some red chile paste instead. I added extra garlic, garlic powder and onion powder, and some black pepper. i think this is a bit bland in flavor, but with additional seasonings, it's a great recipe. And it sure is a lot healthier than the tofu burgers that are at the store. I may add some shredded carrot to this next time, I think it would work out pretty well. Oh- and VERY important-- you MUST drain your tofu ahead of time. I wrap it up in a clean kitchen towel, then place it between two plates, and put something heavy on top. Let it sit for 25-20 minutes, to squeeze that water out. Also... make sure you use QUICK COOK oats--- not the 5 minute cook oats. The quick cook (i.e. cooks in 1 minute), has no problem in getting the batter to stick together. That being said, this is a nice recipe for healthy homemade tofu burgers... just add extra spices and try some different things. We added a bit of hot sauce, when eating, and it tasted great that way! Another one to try, is a little bit of cheese (maybe some pepper jack?).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: LisaS
These were my first tofu burgers ever and they came out amazing! I drained the tofu well before hand and had no issues with crumbliness! Only thing I'd add next time is a bit of salt.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Kiren K
I can't believe how yummy this was! I added some chicken bullion, doubled the amount of egg, and used curry powder instead of paste, then baked at 175 degrees C for thirty minutes. I had this as an open-faced sandwich with Roasted Tomatoes with Garlic, also from this site. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing this!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Mark Twenhafel
Thanks to pattyward555 for getting me started with homemade tofu burgers. This is my first attempt. I followed the advice to drain the tofu: the technique I used was to crumble both packages of firm tofu into a colander, set the colander in a bowl to catch the drainage, press another bowl into the tofu that was sitting in the colander, and set a gallon water bottle on the bowl to exert weight onto the tofu. Left it in the 'fridge overnight and it was quite dry in the morning. Besides the recipe ingredients, I added a finely-diced carrot and half bell pepper. Finely-diced cauliflower or broccoli would be good, too. Used cumin seeds instead of ground cumin; and about 4 T. cumin paste instead of one. For the binder, I started with 3 eggs instead of the 2 eggs called for and pan-fried 4 tofu patties. Was still crumbly, so I added 2 more eggs, for 5 total. This seemed to improve the cohesiveness of the cooked burgers. Had to use a spatula to transfer the patties to the frying pan, as the egg doesn't bind the patty together until it's cooked. (But, you knew that. :-) My total yield was 14-15 patties. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Mari
Really good. I'm vegetarian but my family isn't. I made one for me and instantly everyone wanted to try. I ended up making enough for the whole family. My friends came over and they absolutely loved them. It's a little bland so I added just a little bit of salt and pepper. Also, drain the tofu. It helps. It's still a bit crumbly but not nearly as much.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: danielle
Delicious! I substituted the oats crushed 'Nature Valley' Granola bars. It gave it a sweet inviting taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: idknittynurse
Yummy! Good texture. Maybe a bit bland, but you can certainly dress them up easily enough. Very easy to make.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: marek
these were alright. I added more spices and tried to jazz them up a bit because they were really really bland the first time around. Anyways, they still feel like they're missing something, I'm just not totally sure what. I don't think I'll make them this way again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes