My Reviews (49)

Pasta Soup with Beans

This is a classic cannellini bean, tomato and pasta soup, garnished with Parmesan cheese. Hearty and satisfying.
Reviews (49)


08 May 2006
Reviewed by: stoglione
When the stars make you drool just like pasta fazul, that's amore!. What a great recipe, and easy! The cannellini beans are like mashed potato on the inside. We were quite liberal with the parmesan. Extra tomatoes (and spice) when adding them and mashing some of the beans midway through help make it more of a sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Austinbear
I love this recipe, it reminds me of my mom's weekly pasta fazul from my childhood. I did make some changes, I used 1 big can of whole peeled tomatoes with all of the juice. I also used dried herbs instead of fresh. I did 1 tablespoon of parsley & basil and 1 teaspoon of oregano. This was full of flavor and perfect.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: NICOLES3
Delicious! I used a can of diced tomatoes instead of whole tomatoes, and I didn't have cannelini beans, so I used a can of baby butter beans; also, no macaroni, so I used thin spaghetti, but really none of these changes really changed the taste of the recipe. I have to say this is a great recipe. I think the absolute key to this recipe is mixing together the butter, parmasan cheese, and noodles. It gives the noodles a nice texture and a nice taste. I will definitely be making this recipe again. Several times.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: LOL2
This recipe was great after we made some corrections to the recipe. There was no liquid until the very end where we ended up blending the whole tomatoes with water and tomato sauce. We also had to constantly add water and tomato jucice (more liquid from another jar of whole pealed tomatoes). After all of these corrections the soup was GREAT!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: PamHav
Delicious!!!but I did tweek it a little. I added 1 cup spagetti sauce, 1 can chicken broth, and the juice of 1/2 of a lemon. The lemon juice will punch up the flavor. I left out the cheese and let that be an add on at the table.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Tarnwood
This excellent dish is a keeper! I followed the recipe exactly - no additions or modifications. It was easy to prepare and does not require fancy ingredients not usually found in your cupboard. I have three meat eaters and a vegetarian in the house and we all enjoyed this dinner.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: TaraAnne
This turned out good ... it's really not a main dish but more of a side dish ... I served it with quiches to company and the two were good together. I doubled the recipe, using one large (25 oz?) can of diced tomatoes and one smaller can of just tomatoe sauce because of the other reviewer's complaints of it being dry. With my changes it was really good and i'll make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: racheltoutcourt
This meal was excellent in terms of ease of preparation and taste. This recipe is sure to become a keeper in our house where beans seem to be a 'terrain d'entente' for a vegetarian and a self-proclamed carnivore. I tweaked it slightly as per the way we like our red pasta sauces, but overall it is wonderful as is.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: katie harrison
This is delicious! I make it all the time and I don't change a thing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: JenW
This dish was super delish!! I am not Italian but I love me some Italian food. I will definitely keep this one for future use. I did make a few changes. I used diced tomatoes and a 14.5 can of tomato sauce in place of the whole tomatoes. I believe it is supposed to be soup like and a lot of the other reviews said it was dry if u follow the recipe exactly so I also used about one can of water and chicken broth mixed and added it with the diced tomatoes and sauce. I used the tomato sauce can for the water/broth mixture. Plus I used all the diced tomato juices instead of just 1/4 of the juices like the recipe calls for. And I didn't use fresh parsley I used dry parsley. I was generous with the parsley, oregano, and basil. I used the tablespoon and teaspoon to measure them out but I didn't fill the spoons completely. I also added about 2 tablespoons of tomato paste. I think that's it. Just keep adding water and broth a lil at a time to keep it the consistency u like. It still is a very simple recipe... And yummy!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes