My Reviews (10)

Barbecued Oysters

This is a classic and simple method for barbecuing oysters which are then served with lemon juice, Tabasco and Worcestershire sauce.
Reviews (10)


29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: JUNEBUFF1
My husband requested oysters for his birthday dinner...we had them raw, in pasta, and in this recipe. This was our favourite! Bar-b-queing the oysters also made shucking much easier.
 
08 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Impatient Chef
My husband requested oysters for his birthday dinner...we had them raw, in pasta, and in this recipe. This was our favorite! Bar-b-queing the oysters also made shucking much easier.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Rajjalynne
I mixed the ingredients together and poured them over freshly grilled oysters. AMAZING! And so simple - thank you! :D
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 May 2014
Reviewed by: Deborah McCarthy
Amazingly addictive!! N1COLE nailed it!! But I wanted to add some grilling tips for people who have never tried this before. When you look at an oyster shell, you will see that one side is more of a bowl shape and the other side is flatter. Cook them with the bowl shape down to keep in more moisture and avoid shoe leather. Oysters will sometimes "explode" and rapidly vent steam when they first pop open on the grill so be careful where you put your fingers and face when you first start cooking them. They will not "open up" like clams do either. You should see a space just large enough to easily slide a knife into and that's usually about it. Maybe only 1/4" or so. They cook very quickly once they open, so keep watch and take them off fast - listen for the sizzle. Use a heavy glove or thick towel to protect you from the heat, sharp shells, and bubbling liquid when taking off the top shell. If you are brand new to grilling these, do them one at a time until you figure out the timing to suit your taste buds (rare, medium, well done, etc) before loading up the grill and potentially ruining a whole batch. Then be prepared to feed your new addiction because these are amazing!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 May 2012
Reviewed by: Harold Wright
These are great. This was my first time grilling oysters so I was a bit leary. They turned out great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jul 2013
Reviewed by: beckyp382
This was my first time at making oysters, and they turned out pretty tasty. I used the oven since the BBQ was rained out. I cooked the oysters at 450 degrees for about 15 minutes, or until they cracked open. I also omitted the hot sauce since I am a wimp. Yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Mar 2016
Reviewed by: kaz
I've been looking forward to making this recipe as I love oysters. I bought a dozen this morning and just finished eating the first 4...The grilling seemed to add grit or pieces of shell to the meat area. The lemon juice / worchestershire was just OK.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jul 2016
Reviewed by: dmjenkins
Pretty darn good! I made BBQ oysters for the first time using this recipe omitting the worchestershire sauce. It was yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Dec 2015
Reviewed by: Christopher R Stephens
May have over cooked but they dried out and sauce could be improved.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Mar 2014
Reviewed by: CastIronConvert
Absolutely delish!! A great alternative for those afraid to try raw oysters.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes