My Reviews (2,844)

Easy Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Brussels sprouts are delicious when roasted. They should have a few little burned leaves for best flavour.
Reviews (2844)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Used different ingredients. Yum! This is my favourite way to make brussels sprouts. I first had them prepared this way at a restaurant in downtown NYC around the corner from where I lived--absolutely addictive, and when I moved from that neighborhood I came up with my own version similar to this recipe. The only difference is that I sprinkle a few cloves of minced garlic on top as the sprouts roast, which is delicious--the roasted garlic is sweet and compliments the sprouts without overpowering them. Also, I usually parboil the sprouts first (for 2 minutes). This draws out bitterness, and cuts down on roasting time (25 minutes to nicely blackened).
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Ada Wilder
I was really really surprise about these, I love brussel sprouts and needed a new way to try them. This was the BOMB!!!!. I followed the recipe with the exception of cook time and temp. Also I cooked mine on 190 degrees and for 30 mins until they were dark brown not black, they also reheat very well. Give this one a try. Update!!!! I'm hitting the store tonight for fresh brussels sprouts, This recipe is really ADDICTIVED!!!!. I cook these all the time, this time I decided to use the garlic as others have stated as I really love garlic. Let me say they were still good, but I think much better just following the recipe as stated. I still can't get enough!!!.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
CHUPIE said:
Used different ingredients. WOW! My kids HATE brussel sprouts. We've tried everything, but, they hate them. I added 2 cloves of crushed garlic, and when they were done, I went to the store and bought another two pounds and made it againg. AMAZING
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: TchrJrHi
Delicious. We have this once a week. I don't cook it for the full 30 minutes--just long enough for the outer leaves to turn brown/crispy, about 15 minutes. So easy, so delicious. Sometimes I sprinkle balsamic vinegar on top.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: PETEYTHESWEETY
These were delicious. I cut them into quarters because I wanted small bites. The cooking time was shortened to about 30 minutes because of this.
 
Comment:
19 Nov 2012
lynnylove said:
Hi everyone, I steam the Brussell sprouts until 3/4 cooked then add e.v.o.o. salt and pepper, then add them on top of roasting vegies which are almost cooked. I do all this for my husband and/or guest as I really don't like Brussell Sprouts at all. Apparently they taste great doing it this way. enjoy!!!
 
10 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: BAYSIDE
EXCELLENT! I would have never in my entire life thought that I'd EVER eat a brussels sprout. They're cute to look at, but OMG the stench of cruciferous veggies cooking just makes me gag. Plus I'm not into "mushy middles" (I think reviewers called it "creamy"). But I did want to try this recipe due to all the rave reviews. And now, I want to THANK the person who posted this fabulous recipe! My husband and I LOVED every morsel! I did do 2 changes: 1- we halved them, so that we wouldn't get "mushy middles", lol. And, I read somewhere that if you remove the "choke" that's at the bottom of the sprout (inside), the brussel sprout will not be bitter. Voila! it worked! These yummmy, salty, nutty, crunchy, carmelized brussel sprouts were SO good. No bitterness whatsoever! The super dark carmelized parts of the roasted bsprouts were the best! LUVVVVV this recipe, and will make over and over again! HUGE thanks!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: Vexie
WOW! My kids HATE brussel sprouts. We've tried everything, but, they hate them. I added 2 cloves of crushed garlic, and when they were done, I went to the store and bought another two pounds and made it againg. AMAZING
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: minka m
Yum! This is my favorite way to make brussels sprouts. I first had them prepared this way at a restaurant in downtown NYC around the corner from where I lived--absolutely addictive, and when I moved from that neighborhood I came up with my own version similar to this recipe. The only difference is that I sprinkle a few cloves of minced garlic on top as the sprouts roast, which is delicious--the roasted garlic is sweet and compliments the sprouts without overpowering them. Also, I usually parboil the sprouts first (for 2 minutes). This draws out bitterness, and cuts down on roasting time (25 minutes to nicely blackened).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Corrina
I make roasted sprouts frequently, however there is NO WAY this recipe could possibly yield anything other than over cooked sprouts!!!! Try roasting at 425 for FIFTEEN MINUTES!!! You'll love them!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes