My Reviews (98)

Cheese and Onion Bread

This is a delicious rich cheesy bread made with onion and garlic. It's the perfect accompaniment to a pasta dinner.
Reviews (98)


16 Jul 2001
Reviewed by: VOLINA
Easy and delicious. An good bread machine recipe. This was my first time making cheese bread of any sort and I half expected the cheese to be swirling in there so I was surprised it had blended and melted through so thoroughly. Next time I might try using cubes of cheese.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Feb 2001
Reviewed by: Vanessa
This is an excellent bread, I like to cut the cheese into small chunks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: pretty_in_pink_pa
I liked this bread, even though my family wasn't too crazy about it. I made it with the stuffed pepper soup that I also found on this site. They went great together! This bread needs to be eaten when warm, or heated up for the best taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Erin
What a delicious bread recipe! I DON'T HAVE A BREAD MACHINE and this still turned out fantastic. Since I was doing this without a bread machine I started with water, sugar, and yeast until it got foamy. Then I added warm milk, butter, and the flour. I stuck mostly to the recipe with a few modifications since I didn't have all of the ingredients. I used 1/2 cup warm water and 1/2 cup warm milk. And instead of using dried onion and garlic I sauteed fresh onion and 1 large clove of garlic. (It came out to be 1/4 cup of cooked onions.) I added the cooked onions and garlic along with the cheese after the first rise (which took about 45 minutes). After punching it down I let it rise until it had doubled (about an hour) then I put it in the oven at 350 for around 25 minutes until the top was golden brown. It came out delicious, the onions didn't make the bread watery and they weren't crunchy like other reviewers commented. I think sauteeing them fixes this problem. I made the loaf into a giant sandwich which we ate on our roadtrip. Everyone couldn't get enough of it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Sep 2001
Reviewed by: PRINCESS29
This is by far one of the easiest and great tasting bread I've made in a long time. I let my bread machine do all the work. Knead and rise. I take it out of the machine and shape it into a round loaf. Let it double in size then bake. YUMMY!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: MISI1818
This is a very good recipe, although I might try using cube cheese next time. The recipe was very easy to make, just put all the ingredients in the bread machine & forget about it. Overall a great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Mar 2001
Reviewed by: ERINW
This was the best. My husband and I have been looking for a quick and yummy bread to make. This was definitely it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Mar 2001
Reviewed by: SCRAPBOOK ROSIE
It didn't have the flavor I was expecting. I want more garlic flavor, but have yet to find it in a bread machine bread.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: Kimberly Ramsey
the taste of this bread was great I didn't have much success with it rising and cooking well in my bread machine though.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Feb 2001
Reviewed by: LAURADJ
Excellent bread - this goes on our list of favorites.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes