My Reviews (131)

One Step Chocolate Cake

This is one of the easiest chocolate cakes ever to make. Just mix all the ingredients in a mixer bowl and bake! Minimal cleanup.
Reviews (131)


29 May 2000
Reviewed by: JESSUP
A wonderful moist chocolate cake. I made one for family last night and there were no leftovers. They requested another one tonight! I used a 13x9x2 glass baking dish and baked it for about 50 minutes, until a toothpick came out clean.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: Pam Ziegler Lutz
This is my new chocolate cake recipe! It was fabulous - better than the bakery I usually use for birthday cakes. I couldn't get to the bakery, so I used this recipe and a yellow cake recipe and put them together. I frosted them with Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting from this site. Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Abbie S
I made this cake as a groom's cake and the entire crowd was just blown away by this cake. It's fabulous!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Rae
Very good cake. I substituted the water for coffee, it brings out the chocolate flavor more. I made these into cupcakes for my son's Valentine's Day party. Baked at 350 for 16 minutes and they came out perfect. I got 26 cupcakes out of the recipe. Family snatched a couple before I could frost them so I'm not sure exactly how many I got! Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Lux
I made this for my son's birthday for the 2nd year in a row yesterday. I also made cupcakes for his birthday with it as well. I have been making this cake for years and I realized why - it's the same one I got of the Hershey's cocoa powder box years ago! This is a GREAT no-fail recipe. The only modification I make to this recipe is substituting strong coffee for the water. It always comes out perfect.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Laurel Gear Kirrane
We love this cake and so do the students at the school where I work. We multiplied this recipe to make enough for for school lunch. It was so easy, we make it the day before and frost it the next day. The kids love it, we no longer serve brownies when they are on the menu, only this cake. We don't change a thing. You can't go wrong with this cake recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Sara
Yes this is actually Hershey's "Perfectly Chocolate" I have seen this recipe on here under a few name's none the less this cake is wonderful just as written, however it is even better when you use 1 cup of fresh hot coffee in place of water. The batter will be very thin but that's how it is supposed to be. It comes out very moist. My kids always want this cake on their B-day even over a bakery cake!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: GLITZYSTAR
This is amazing! I have made it several times, and it is consistently perfect! It's such a bonus having minimal cleanup. Really great cake
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: carabrown3
This recipe is so yummy! It is a very moist cake and super easy to make. I have shared this with others and everyone is now using it as their go to chocolate cake recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: nurseD
This cake turned out excellent. Made it in a bundt pan and baked for 40 min. Finished with a chocolate ganache and topped with fresh raspberries. Makes enough to serve 10-12 at least. Will definitely make this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes