My Reviews (14)

Sultana and Walnut Biscuits

These oat biscuits with sultanas, walnuts and wheat germ are pure energy! A perfect snack for active people.
Reviews (14)


19 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: DEBBILET
I always like to have some kind of theme food when watching the Olympics. I made these cookies for the opening ceremonies of the Salt Lake Winter Games. The golden raisins and walnuts make them a nice variation of traditional oatmeal raisin cookies. I used a large Pampered Chef cookie scoop to drop my dough in golf ball-sized portions. I was pleased to get twice the expected yield--three dozen cookies, each four inches in diameter. Thirteen minutes of baking time was enough to produce soft, chewy cookies.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Apr 2001
Reviewed by: BETH40
Absolutely the best oatmeal raisin cookies I have every had. Have tried many recipes but none as good as this one. Everyone who has tried these had loved them too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: canadianpattycake
These are the best oatmeal type cookie I have ever baked. I grind the oatmeal in the blender and add ground flaxseed. I reduce the sugar by 45g and use wholemeal flour. Also, I use raw sugar instead of brown and white sugar. Everyone who has tried these cookies loves them. P.S. My oven bakes these in 17min.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: DNEEZIE
I added 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, made them a bit smaller ("normal" sized), and reduced the baking time accordingly. I love the idea of using the wheat germ but although these were tasty, I found them a bit bland for cookies.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: sbeuler
I make these for my crew at the firehouse and they are a huge hit! Especially when we get busy...we can grab one of these cookies & go. They really tide us over until we get the chance to eat a full meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: Clarissa Neiding
although the taste was ok, but nothing super impressive, my family likes soft chewy sort cookies better. These bake to very thin and very crispy. My kids did eat them but my husband would not. I won't make these again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: Sandy G.
I had to add regular raisins as I had no golden, but will try them another time. I would have liked to added walnuts but I wanted my 19 mth old can't have nuts yet. Added a half teaspoon of cinnamon. I let the cookies bake for 12 minutes and took them out looking a little gooey to avoid crispiness that others reviewers complained about. A nice oatmeal cookie.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: COURTNEYSUNSHINE
I followed this recipe exactly as written, but I was pretty disappointed in the outcome. The taste itself is very good, but tasted like other easier oatmeal cookies recipes I have made. I think 1 cup of butter is too much and the cookies tasted a little too buttery and probably added to the other problem I had. The cookie dough was pretty easy to make, but that was where the ease ended. Making these the exact size stated in the recipe doesn't work. Cooked for 20 minutes, ours still were not done so we baked them a little more. After taking them out of the oven and letting them sit for a few minutes, they still fell apart. Maybe it is a typo in the printed recipe, but the dough should be dropped onto the cookie sheet in a teaspoon, not a Tablespoon. Sorry, but I think I will stick to other oatmeal cookie recipes and just add wheat germ to them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: diane
Wow! I had a bad experience with this recipe. The dough looked okay, maybe a bit too sugary, but it sure didn't look like it would melt flat onto the cookie sheet! (I'm glad I greased the sheet as instructed.) The only change I made to this recipe was to use whole wheat flour, but that shouldn't have caused the awful results I got. I'm sad I wasted all the good ingredients I did on this recipe. Maybe I can make it into some kind of musli or granola or something?
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Mambisa
Best oatmeal cookies by far!! I changed the recipe a little*** and they came out just perfect! I made them bigger about 4 inch diameter, added 2 onz of milk and one cup of coconut shaves. I only used 3/4 of the butter and increased the cooking time from 20 to 30 minutes. Result: I've created a monster cookie, chewy in the center and crispy edges. Delicioso!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes