My Reviews (46)

Sicilian Tomato Pasta Sauce with Meatballs

This is enough Sicilian pasta sauce to feed an army! Perfect for family reunions and other large gatherings. Just prepare it and you'll see that when dinner time comes everyone's mouths will be watering because of the great smell.
Reviews (46)


20 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: wisweetp
I first made and reviewed this in January 2007, and I have made many, many times since. It is our absolute favorite meatball and sauce recipe. However...I do not like this made with tomato sauce, and I also bake my meatballs for a few minutes to brown rather than fry. I use crushed or ground tomatoes, and I always add chopped onion. Sometimes I add chopped roasted red peppers or carrots for a little sweetness if my tomatoes are particuarly acidic. Leftover sauce, makes a great pizza sauce. We used it on the Brick-oven pizza from this site (another favorite of ours), and it's wonderful--try adding thin slices of the meatballs to the pizza before popping in the oven--fabulous! We sometimes double the meatball recipe and make meatball sandwiches. It's also fantastic in lasagna. We love this sauce and the meatballs, too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: calizen
I really love these meatballs, although I don't make them exactly as the recipe says. Since I'm only cooking for two, I only use 1 lb of ground beef and omit the pork all together. I use 1/3 cup each of bread crumbs/parmesan cheese. This makes plenty for 2. I follow the recipe for the tomato sauce exactly, and it always comes out great. I've made this recipe many times. I've served it over pasta, I've tweaked the recipe slightly to make it a "sweet and sour" meatball dish, and I've also made meatball subs out of it (french loaf cut in half with the middle scooped out, toasted under the broiler until just a little "crunchy", then slice the meatballs in half and lay on the bread, spoon a little sauce over all, add mozzarella cheese on top, stick back under the broiler until melted and viola!). Really versatile, tasty recipe that I will continue to use. Thank you for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: JOSIE
I used this recipe for the meatballs only and made the Best Marinara Sauce Yet to go along with them. They turned out really tasty. I used all ground pork and 1 large link of hot italian sausage. (Hubby used all of the ground beef the night before in his burgers)! I also added some grated Romano cheese along with the parmesan and a dash of salt and pepper. I baked my meatballs at 350 for about half and hour rather than pan-frying them. I was able to drain off quite a bit of oil. I let them simmer in the sauce for a while and they gave off a real "meaty" taste which we all enjoyed. Thanks Joiamia, this was good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: SURFWENCH
Pretty good. Substituted a can of crushed for the sauce. Added a splash of red wine. I prefer using stale baguette buzzed in the blender then soaked in a little half and half instead of boxed bread crumbs. Also you needn't cook the meatballs in the fry pan, they can gently simmer in the sauce and their texture will be much softer. Don't leave the pork out of the meatballs! Mangia
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: nkgreco
I have been searching for a recipe to resemble make my husband's Sicilian grandmother's homemade sauce, and this is the closest I have come! Alleluia! If you are used to American spaghetti sauce, this is not it. This is the real deal Italian stuff from the homeland. I pretty much followed the recipe to a t, but made a few additions: half of cup heavy cream and a cup of parm to the sauce to try and cut back on the acidity (parm was a mistake, it became too salty, next time I'll try carrots). Followed the meat-a ball instructions exactly and added six links of hot Italian sausage. TIP: don't pre-cook the meatballs (or sausage), just gently add to sauce and stir occasionally. They'll cook during the four hour simmering and will come out perfectly. If you are looking for authentic Italian meatballs and gravy, look no more.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 May 2006
Reviewed by: PLANETJAI
I've made this twice now and both times it was wonderful. This is almost as good as my Italian Grandmother's recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: Ewa Lamb
If you're looking for that authentic Italian taste you remember when you visited Italy...this is it. It's easy and simple to make and there are tons of leftovers. I made smaller sized meatballs and only used beef. Still came out fabulous! Now thats a spicy meatball! Mmm...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: Tracey Ober Logan
Used all beef and made only half the meatballs - used minced garlic (and doubled the amount of garlic called for) and sauce was amazing. Thanks so much for such a super easy WONDERFUL recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Mar 2001
Reviewed by: DAWNELAINE
My mother-in-law, who is Italian, actual was surprised at how well I made tomato sauce when I used this recipe . . . it is excellent!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: ROASTEDNUT
I made this sauce, froze a portion of it and a week later made the Hall of Fame "American Lasagna" from this site. Let me tell you....I've always been a good cook, but this was outrageous. This sauce has body. It has an attitude too....don't mess with it unless you're serious about your Italian food. Really great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes