My Reviews (52)

Pecan Prune Cake

This cake is a little more trouble than some but it well worth it! It's moist and rich with a delicious sauce.
Reviews (52)


06 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: JENROLLINS69
I didn't find this cake recipe troublesome at all! The aroma of this cake baking was awesome! My mother and I were going through a book of homemade recipes hand-written by my grandmother. My mother said she remembered the prune cake and how much her brother and sister enjoyed that cake as small children. She asked me to make the cake for her one day just to see how it would turn out. Problem was, the page that the recipe was written on was so old that we couldn't make out some of the recipe directions. I used this recipe instead because the ingredients were extremely similiar to my grandmother's recipe. My mother LOVED the cake and my gandmother said it tasted just like hers when she used to make it. Thank you very much for the recipe--it truly is an "old-fashioned" cake recipe! I wanted to comment also...in the past I would have turned my nose up to anything prune...especially a cake. But everyone should give this cake a try. I can guarantee you'll love it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: TIRAMISUKI
I made a number of changes...I used plain yogurt instead of buttermilk, and reduced the amount of sugar to 1 and 1/4 cups. I also did not use the glaze as I already found the cake to be sweet enough. Instead of baking in a bundt pan, I used either one 9X13 pan or two2 9 inch round pans. I have also tried using chopped crystalized bael fruit (commonly eaten in Thailand and can be found in Asian food store) to replace the prunes, and complimenting it with toasted almond sticks. It was a major hit! This bael cake will not go with the spices though as the bael fruit has its own distinct aroma.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: JOSIE
Oh my goodness Jackie...I could eat my body weight in this stuff. Talk about one moist cake. This is absolutely delicious. A lot of people turn their noses up at the word "prune", but I guarantee one bite of this cake and they'll change their minds. Can't wait for another peice!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: Chrys
This is fabulous, without the frosting! I substituted cloves for the allspice, based on an old recipe. I used a 16oz. jar of Sunsweet stewed prunes, which yielded about 1 1/4 cups of pureed prunes, and the cake was very moist. I made this years ago using dried prunes, and it wasn't nearly as moist as with stewed. When my teenaged son heard it was made with prunes, he initially refused to try it. When he heard my husband comment how delicious it was, he tried it and loved it! Advertise it as a Spice Cake and no one will ever know!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: CITYKID
I too remember this cake from my childhood but the recipe was lost in a move. This is a new favorite when we want something other than chocolate. A great cake to take to a potluck, you will come home with an empty pan!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: KLBUMB
This recipe made two 8x8 cakes and were done in 25 minutes at 350 degrees. I boiled the dried prunes and had them simmer for 10 minutes before I chopped them. Used splenda instead of white sugar and can't taste the difference. My old recipe has baking soda in the frosting and I would probably go back to that recipe for the topping, but otherwise very moist and tasty!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: CALVAREZ
Excellent cake, very moist, I also did not use the glaze as it was sweet enough. Reduced the amount of sugar to 1-1/4 cup. Used chopped walnuts instead of pecans. Will definetely make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: CAROL J. GOLDEN
I was so glad to find this recipe. Except for the name "Prune Cake" prune haters would never know. Call it "Spice Cake" and no one will suspect.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Sep 2001
Reviewed by: ANNIEPEEPERS
Just like the one my grandma used to make!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: BYRDIELOVE
On recent reunion of college classmates ('67), even THEIR tastebuds remembered fondly my Mama's prune cake and asked for the recipe! This is almost identical to hers...and among the best of my childhood culinary recollections!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes