My Reviews (90)

Chocolate Cake with Pecan Icing

This is an old recipe for an absolutely delicious chocolate cake with pecan icing. You could substitutes walnuts if you prefer.
Reviews (90)


13 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: MARISAANN
Best cake ever! I omitted the pecans from the icing, because I didn't have any at the time, and I omitted the cinnamon. I also added a tsp. of baking powder, it gives the cake a little more lift. I'll never buy another box cake again, this one is so easy to make.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: NANNOUSE
Excellent chocolate cake, I've been looking for a good recipe like this for a LOOOONG time. I didn't change anything about it. I made it the first time with the icing as suggested, it was great, but I found the icing a bit too heavy and the cake on its own without the icing speaks for itself. I've made it about 5 times, and have taken it to parties, and everyone gets at least 3rds!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: joyfuljoyous
WOW!!! This turned out GREAT! I live at 5K feet, so usually cakes flop and turn out so gross, but I made this just the way the recipe says. I omitted the cinnamon, used whole milk instead of buttermilk, and substituted a "yogurt spread" for the butter. And baked in two 9" rounds for 28 minutes. Turned out GREAT! I added a bit more cocoa powder and it tastes great! I didn't use the frosting, sicne this is for the child I babysit, and his mom is going to decorate the cake for his birthday. Thank you! It's yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: losecakenowaskmehow
Excellent cake! Love the cinnamon! I have made this well over 10 times, and it never ceases to please. During these baking sessions I have slightly modified the recipe: Now I only use 1/2 cup of butter in the cake (I swear, you won't notice), omit the pecans (not a fan of nuts in cake), and I half the icing. I'm a sugar freak, but even I thought the icing was too much originally. I've also been using baking POWDER instead of baking SODA. I noticed in some of the lower starred reviews that their cakes came out flat & dense. This could be due to using baking powder. You have to double or triple the amount of powder to equal soda. I use 2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder, and the cake comes out extremely pillowy & moist. One last thing; 30 mins is not enough. 40-45 mins typically.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: TALLGAL21
I made this recipe (cake only) with Splenda granular instead of sugar (and, as the Splenda site suggests for all cakes with Splenda, added 1/2 C of nonfat dry milk powder and 1/2 t baking soda for each C of Splenda used). This is the first chocolate cake that I have tried with Splenda that turned out well. If you substitute Splenda, reduce the cooking time by quite a bit and keep a check on it - Splenda cakes cook much faster than sugar cakes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: GRANNYLOOHOO
This is a cake that I have made many times under various names, such as Mexican Chocolate Cake or Texas Sheet Cake, and most are made in an 11 X 15 pan. However I had not seen one with the buttermilk in the icing. I halved the recipe for our family of 3 and baked it in an 11 X 7 pan. The cake itself is a moist cake, and the cinnamon is just enough to perk up the chocolate; but it is the icing that makes the cake. I love the addition of buttermilk--it gives the chocolate a real depth and just adds to the richness. I did not have buttermilk so mixed a little cidar vinegar in some half & half, and it worked just fine. I also used toasted walnuts, because I can't find good fresh pecans right now. To reviewer SUSIEQ2005, my Mom says it's the best chocolate cake she's ever had too! Although I would give the cake itself a 3, the icing is a 5. However my husband and Mom rate it a 5, so that is what I'm giving it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: EGGIWEG
Wow. "The best thing ever," according to one of my guests. The cake is very moist and good, but the icing is truly amazing! I put the extra icing in the fridge... I'm eating it with a spoon. I will definitely be making this again. Small changes I made: added 1 extra tablespoon of cocoa powder to both the cake and the icing, and I added about 1/3 cup of chocolate chips to the cake (because, really, the more chocolate, the better.)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: BOOKIE
7 14 10 ... http://allrecipes.com/recipe/21266/old-fashioned-chocolate-cake/ ... This is the best MEDIUM CHOCOLATE cake. Second best is Chocolate Sheet Cake. They are almost the same recipe except for all butter vs half butter, half shortening. Use the easier directions. It tastes the same. They both are thin batter so don't roundup very much - like you'd want for cupcakes. E's FAVORITE!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: SUSIEQ2005
This cake is delicious! My mom keeps telling me it's the best cake she's ever had. Definitely a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: RALWATTAR
In all my years of baking, this is the WORST chocolate cake I've EVER made. No one would eat it, it tasted like paper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes